We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food and fast service”
Review of Silver Diner

Silver Diner
Ranked #6 of 419 Restaurants in Fairfax
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: At Silver Diner, we're much more than a diner. Whether you choose a classic dish or a vegetarian, vegan, or gluten-free option, Executive Chef Ype Von Hengst has created a menu of customizable, healthier choices that all share one thing: the highest quality, all-natural ingredients available.Silver Diner is proud to be a key part of the local community, nurturing it's growth, providing food for healthier lifestyles, and supporting local schools and non-profits. With a menu that features more than 15 local farms that support sustainable agriculture, Chef Ype creates seasonal dishes using the freshest ingredients available within our local region.
Level Contributor
249 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Good food and fast service”
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at the Silver Diner this morning to seek breakfast and refuge from the snow only to find that there was a line 20 deep - clearly a popular place on a Sunday morning. To our pleasant surprise the line moved quickly and we only waited five minutes.
The food was good, and fresh, and the service was excellent.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    95
    33
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great fresh food, updated atmosphere and good prices.”
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant recently upgraded its decor and menu. The decor has murals on the walls. Still has diner atmosphere but clean and upgraded. The menu now offers fresh food with unusual combinations--but delicious. We had pot roast and meatloaf over mashed potatoes. Just like home cooking. We're also had breakfast here too and enjoyed it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CherylS215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great look, great food”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I recently had the pleasure of dining not once, but twice in this diner. I found the staff exceedingly pleasant, and in particular, on my second visit, patient. I was with 10 other people, among which were 4 small children (all boys!). Never did anyone have the feeling that the waiter would have rather had root canal than deal with such a group. He was always there, accommodating and cheerful without being pretentiously servile. They very smartly put us in one end, and the rest of the patrons at the other. In my experience, intelligence is not frequently found anymore.
The look is a charming deco, and the food, while pretty standard, is also, across the board, done well. The desserts are also a treat. Normally I find that diner desserts taste like "refrigerator". Not in this case. They also had a mini-sundae, which was perfect for those of us pretending to watch what we eat! No question of revisiting next time I'm in the area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CharlesLindberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, WI
Level Contributor
293 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“A Trip Back to the 50s”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Being from the Midwest I had never eaten at a Silver Diner until our trip to Virginia. The diner in Fairfax, VA was neat because it incorporated all the fanciful diner features like table top juke boxes, chrome, tile floors and neon with modern comforts like wide booths, air conditioning and a variety of menu items. Our waitress was all smiles and happily explained some of the dishes. The meatloaf was great, as was the burger and kids selection. My 7 year old was fascinated by the juke box and so was I. We played two or three songs. It was nice to be able to adjust the volume on the machine so when you wanted to talk you could. A great choice for family fun.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sloomis31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lompoc, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good food but a little pricey”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Nice feel, good retro ambiance, music a tad loud. My grandson had the cajun spiced salmon- he could detect no heat in the spices. I had the flatiron steak and it was good. My wife had a chicken salad and it was also good and a nice size. All in all, an adequate restaurant but for all the hype, a bit of a disappointment in price and quality.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NASAEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Silver Diner also viewed

 
Dale City, Prince William County
 

Been to Silver Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing