We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good breakfast, Ok menu,”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Silver Diner

Silver Diner
Ranked #7 of 416 Restaurants in Fairfax
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: At Silver Diner, we're much more than a diner. Whether you choose a classic dish or a vegetarian, vegan, or gluten-free option, Executive Chef Ype Von Hengst has created a menu of customizable, healthier choices that all share one thing: the highest quality, all-natural ingredients available.Silver Diner is proud to be a key part of the local community, nurturing it's growth, providing food for healthier lifestyles, and supporting local schools and non-profits. With a menu that features more than 15 local farms that support sustainable agriculture, Chef Ype creates seasonal dishes using the freshest ingredients available within our local region.
Centreville, Virginia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“good breakfast, Ok menu,”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

The menu has changed (alot) and the selections are probably too varied for them to do any of them really well. Not the typical diner fare, and a bit too innovative with some of the choices. (salads come with their version of the 'right' dressing, not to my liking.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alison_B855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    92
    32
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great for Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I love Silver Diner but especially for breakfast. The staff is always friendly and helpful. Try the to go or curb side service sometime if you live in the area.

Helpful?
Thank JulyLadyjaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
244 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Diner experience, franchise feel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

I had breakfast at the Silver Diner. The food was greasy (as diner food should be), plentiful (ditto) and the atmosphere of laminated tables, bare floors and counter along with miniature jukeboxes at every table was quite authentic. The approach to the restaurant is a little tricky as it lies at the intersection of two major roads (West Ox and Fair Lakes) that makes planning your turns into the parking lot both creative and hazardous during the morning rush hour. Parking is free and plentiful, once you are inside.

I had the shorter (and cheaper) version of the long menu items that came on a single sheet. The breakfast included coffee and orange juice and an attentive waitress who came back to keep it refilled and hot. The breakfast I had was the American breakfast with eggs and ham and a biscuit and hash brown potato wedges. The food was OK. The ham was not boneless and I had to wrestle with cutting off the meat and fiber. The food was average. The service was good with the waitress coming back to check on how I was doing frequently, along with refills for my coffee,

I would recommend the Silver Diner for the diner experience but the food is average and if you are on a diet, you probably shouldn't be in a diner anyway!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shutterbug35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Neck, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

This place takes you back in time when diners were the rage. Very nostalgic atmosphere and great food. The food choices are very wide range and good to boot!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Deborah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Decent Food, Friendly Service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

The service here is very friendly!! Great Breakfast Food!!! My last visit New Year's Eve dinner with family was nice. Our server was extremely friendly. I only ordered 2 sides. Mashed Potatoes and Gravy and a side of corn. The potatoes were great, however the corn was slightly overcooked. Our table also had breakfast foods and a turkey platter, chicken fingers and a burger. They were excellent

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Feismum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Silver Diner also viewed

 
Dale City, Prince William County
 

Been to Silver Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing