We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Consistently Excellent Thai Food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sakoontra Thai Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sakoontra Thai Restaurant
Ranked #216 of 394 Restaurants in Fairfax
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Consistently Excellent Thai Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Sakoontra has become a staple for us; both at the restaurant and home delivered. The food is consistently well prepared, there are ample choices to fit all pallets including a ciliac friend. The portions are filling and they have managed to keep the prices lower than other area Thai restaurants with less selection.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    12
    5
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
153 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Staple Thai Restaurant in Fairfax”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Back when I used to work in Fairfax, Sakoontra was the staple Thai restaurant for work lunches - and even the occasional dinner.

In the past three months, I had the opportunity to eat lunch there on two occasions. The restaurant is as it ever was. The food is tasty - even perhaps a bit spicy for some palates. My preference with Thai food is curry dishes, so I ate beef and chicken dishes on my respective visits. I usually order a thai ice tea as well.

There is nothing particularly remarkable about Sakoontra, but it still feels like a step above some other Thai restaurants in the Fairfax area. It is a more than adequate place of lunch or even a small dinner, but I would not classify it as fine dining by any stretch, although in fairness I have not ventured into their more fancy dishes.

Also, as a bit of trivia, Sakoontra and Thai Farm in Rockville are related.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Markus1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
106 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“definitely going back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

Went to Sakoontra during Christmas shopping mid afternoon. Just wanted a quick snack - and we ate everything. Great selections for Vegetarians - choices without fish sauce. I had the best green beans - spicy - absolutely gigantic and it will be difficult for me to order other selections since this was just delicious. My dining partner visits Thailand on a regular basis so he is knows how Thai food tastes firsthand. He had the Tamarind chicken which he enjoyed. He also raves about this place. I have already told my daughter if she comes to visit Virginia, we are taking her here. It is probably a better location for famiies without young children since it is a large open space, so noises will carry throughout. I have not tried the takeout so I cannot comment on how the food transports - but my beans had a crispy texture, and I would think that it may lose that texture if placed in a take out container, which might account for the complaints about the soggy texture in some reviews.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank plymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food, lots of vegetarian options, fun atmosphere and great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We went there in December 2012 for my birthday and in January for a birthday dinner for a friend. We had a wonderful evening, the food was great, the service excellent and the prices very reasonable with large portions. If you are vegetarian, the vegetarian menu items do not have fish sauce. If you stray from the vegetarian options menu, ask your server to make sure there is no fish sauce in your entree. The staff is very concerned about making sure vegetarians are taken care of. Also, if you wish to have less oil in your dish, you can request this as well. The food is freshly prepared and is hot when it arrives.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank anginva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorton, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fish oil in EVERYTHING!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

I had specifically asked for a dish without fish oil. The waiter suggested a dish without it so I tried it out. When I got my food, it had a lot of fish oil. I kindly asked the waiter if I could send it back for another dish. He brought another one out and said it was made with fish oil. Sure enough, I had the same issue again. I sen the dish back and the I got the check with both dishes charged to me. I had one bite from each dish and sent it back because it was not made correctly the way I had requested. The manager was not willing to waive the charge of the dish. I left the restaurant hungry and ended up eating fast food. Worst experience and service ever.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hupharmboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sakoontra Thai Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Sakoontra Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing