We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent meals”
Review of Red Hot & Blue

Red Hot & Blue
Ranked #44 of 419 Restaurants in Fairfax
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Red Hot and Blue is a full-service, casual-themed restaurant chain and caterer featuring delicious award-winning ribs, Memphis-style barbeque, smoked wings, and Southern sides and desserts. The atmosphere is steeped in legendary and contemporary blues music and delivers a large dose of Southern hospitality in a fun and entertaining dining environment. History: The first Red Hot and Blue restaurant opened in Arlington, Virginia in 1988, started by Lee Atwater, Don Sundquist and friends. Don Sundquist was from Memphis and served in the House of Representatives and as governor of Tennessee. The late Lee Atwater was an amateur blues musician and political figure that managed George H.W. Bush's successful race for the presidency. These men were friends who longed for authentic Memphis-style barbeque and great blues music. Unable to find that combination anywhere in the Washington, DC area they decided the only way to get it done was to open a restaurant of their own. The Memphis-style barbeque chain celebrated its 25th Anniversary in 2013 by partnering with a charitable organization at 24 different restaurant locations. The yearlong celebration culminated in the presentation of thousands of dollars in donations to local charities. The Name: The name, "Red Hot and Blue" is taken from the title of D.J. Dewey Phillip's radio show that that aired on WHBQ-AM in Memphis, Tennessee in the 1950s. This radio show launched the careers of Elvis Presley, Jerry Lee Lewis and Johnny Cash and broadened the audience for artists such as BB King, Muddy Waters, Robert Cray and Rufus Thomas. Red Hot & Blue Dine-In, Take-Out and Catering. Hickory-smoked Memphis-style BBQ, Ribs, Wings, Beef Brisket, Smoked Chicken, Seafood, Full-service Bar, in a Family-friendly atmosphere with a heapin' helpin' of Southern Hospitality!
Herndon, Virginia, USA
1 review
“Excellent meals”
Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The service was excellent and plenty of good food. Inside and outside tables. We enjoyed a free entrée for our anniversary.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Larry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    45
    32
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Simpsonville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
211 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Twice the price and half the flavor of our local Carolina BBQ”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stopped here for lunch and were underwhelmed. While the service was great, the food was disappointing. The prices were much higher than expected ($3 for sweet tea?), and the chopped pork was dry and not very flavorful. We much preferred our lunch at the Auld Shebeen Irish Pub down the road the next day.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SCFamilyof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Not what it could be--doesn't stand up to other locations”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Red Hot & Blue used to be an occasional haunt for me and a close friend for BBQ ribs and grease-laden, but oh-so-tempting onion loaves. Our wives both disliked this fare, so this was an ideal place for boys dine out. But, the Fairfax location just doesn't stand up to other RH&B locations at which we have eaten. The ribs often seemed warmed over, and the fries were a bit limp. It has all the earmarks of a commercial fast food eatery. The small parking lot is usually jammed, so there is no lack of patronage, but I'll pass in the future.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hugh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Consistent, Southern, Tasty”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We're regular visitors to RH&B in Fairfax, but they also have excellent restaurants elsewhere, including Arlington, VA. Our favorite menu items are the pulled pork platter, the pulled pork sandwich, and 1/2 slab of "dry" ribs. These dry ribs are the best we've found in several southern states. These are rubbed with spicy seasoning, not slathered with sauce, though you can add whatever you wish when it's delivered to your table. Though the menu says that these entres are served with baked beans and cole slaw as sides, you can substitute any sides on the menu. Our favorite sides include fried okra, collards, or other "green" sides. Be sure to sign up for their "birthday" club and you'll receive a post card with a birthday gift of one free entree ($10.00) with the purchase of another. RH&B turns out some really good southern barbecue dishes, so don't expect anything "fancy." It's good for the kids, too. Staff is well-trained and the food is delivered rather quickly. I suppose they have a big roasting pig (or chicken) on the grill downstairs so they're to serve up their meats fairly quickly. Highly recommended, unless you're a "princess and the pea" person.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1776-Raider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairfax
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Always good, rarely great”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The pulled chicken platter (dinner) is good, and the collard greens wonderful. Dry ribs are awful -- way too much paprika. The onion loaf is a big treat but quite greasy.

Otherwise, the service is passable and friendly, and speedy without fail.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank mawtha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Red Hot & Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing