We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Valentines Day dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Iguana

Blue Iguana
Ranked #116 of 391 Restaurants in Fairfax
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: Halal, American, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: For over 21 years, The Blue Iguana has been a fixture here in Fairfax, Virginia. One of the first of the new school of Chef driven restaurants, The Blue Iguana was finally sold by it's first owners, whom have retired, to veteran Clifton & Nargiza Wilcox in August of 2013. Since 2013 a lot of great changes were made. We strive to give every guest the best experience at Blue Iguana. So come have a drink, come have a bite, enjoy the best SUNDAY BRUNCH, BEST HAPPY HOUR and get to know our family of the great staff in Northen Virginia.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
230 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Valentines Day dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

This was the second time we went here the first was 10 yrs ago. We went for Valentines Day and had to take our 19 months old daughter. They had a price fix dinner that you could pick from 4 or 5 choices from apperitizers then entrees and dessert. They also served a great Tuscany bread with pesto and oil to start with when we were waiting for the dinner to be served. They were very nice and accomodated us with a homemade child cup with a lid and straw made from a takeout soup bowl. Our daughter proceeded to work the room going from table to table letting everyone hold her. She is very small and looks like a doll so everyone always wants to touch and holdher. One older man said it made his Valentines Day to see her. Everything we ordered was very very good. It was an excellent night starting from the time we walked in and the matre de welcomed us and wished us a Happy Valentines Day to the time we left an hr later with happy and very full bellys. This is not a family type place but, they do accomodate. It would be a great place for a date night or just a nice dinner out with a spouse or a group of friends.
Excellent food and very tenative wait staff. They also had a bar there. The dress is casual but, not jeans and a tshirt maybe jeans and a button down shirt would be good or dressier.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MrMouser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    23
    12
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

My husband and I love to go here for a special occasion. The host is always very nice, as well as the waiters. I like the atmosphere, it is relaxing but elegant. The food is always superb. I especially love the bread with a unique oil/cheese blend for dipping. Every entree we have ordered we have enjoyed. I have ordered the seafood pasta, scallops, and steaks before and always enjoyed them. I'm not sure if they still have the same seafood pasta on the menu that they used to have, since it's been a little while since I've been there, but I remember it being exceptional! We go every year for my birthday and I'm looking forward to April and another beautiful meal there. Highly recommended!! Oh, and we tried the Sunday brunch once and it was good but not great, and we didn't think it was worth the trip. Aside from the brunch - we love this place!!

  • Visited April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ReleaseT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good food off the beaten path”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

A quirky restaurant - off the beaten paty - good food - if you eat outside it will be smokey - ate here over New Years Eve and the fix price menu was good. Family friendly and the wait staff seems happy to be working there.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dpelgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Virginia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Off The Beaten Path”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

Great food. Interesting menu. Love eating there. It's small but just has a different byt good feel

Helpful?
Thank oda5261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovettsville, Virginia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Good, But Not Great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

We have eaten there for both lunch and dinner. The sandwiches and the entree salads are a better choice than the burgers and it is a tad expensive for lunch, about $13 per person plus drinks and tip. It is much more of a bargain for dinner with very good entrees at reasonable prices. Service is excellent.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Business_TravelerFFX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Iguana also viewed

 

Been to Blue Iguana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing