We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nice Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cantina D'Italia

Cantina D'Italia
13015 Fairlakes Shopping Center, Fairfax, VA 22033
703-631-2752
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 390 Restaurants in Fairfax
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Virginia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We have driven by this unassuming restaurant a million times without going in. Recently, we decided to remedy that and were pleasantly surprised. I expected it to be a small restaurant, but it's surprisingly big inside. There are plenty of booths. I had the lasagna, which was quite good. My husband had the salmon pasta dish and he said the salmon was perfectly cooked. The salad left a bit to be desired, since they use mostly iceberg lettuce.

We don't appreciate the current trend of super-noisy restaurants, so we enjoyed the quieter atmosphere. We'll definitely go again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Snorkelaholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    30
    12
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
599 reviews
324 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
“Very good "white tablecloth Italian"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The food at Cantina D'Italia is always fresh and unique. It is hard to believe people line up out the door at the chain Italian place across the parking lot, and do not appreciate the food being served nearby. The bread is soft and fresh and the ingredients in all the dishes all feel like they were made in some grandmothers kitchen, with time and attention given to each component, not churned out from an overly busy kitchen. This is the upper scale Italian you are looking for that the whole family can enjoy and not feel like they are spending a lot of money.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank GoodFood88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Virginia
Level Contributor
327 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Pretty good food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Had garlic bread, calamari, salad, pasta and dessert. The food was good, not amazing but definitely better than the chain Italian restaurant in the same shopping center. The servers did stay on top of the drinks and clear the table in a reasonable amount of time. The deserts were the only disappointment.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank scherzva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012 via mobile

I love this place. Their meatball sub available during lunch is the best ever. Sunshine pasta is one of the best veggie pasta ever..whoever I have taken to this place has loved it and kept going back again and again and again! Love this place..ambience is the added advantage of this place!

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pragyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Understated, excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

We ate there Saturday night about 5:30 p.m. We did not need a reservation. Didn't know what to expect as we'd never eaten there before. The restaurant was quiet and lovely. All the servers and other personnel were extremely polite and kind. The food was wonderful. Eggplant parmigiana was the best I've ever had. Tilapia with a crabmeat in a fresh tomato sauce was excellent. Also great was the baked ziti. This is probably the best Italian restaurant we've been to in Fairfax County. The couple next to us had a baby in a high chair and we'd heard it is child-friendly.Most of the entrees are $14-23. There's bread and a side salad. Highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cantina D'Italia also viewed

 

Been to Cantina D'Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing