We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Meet someone special here.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Arties's

Arties's
Ranked #1 of 416 Restaurants in Fairfax
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Since 1978, Fairfax City's most popular restaurant. Enjoy boathouse favorites surrounded by handcrafted wooden boat scale models and Jack Gable's view of Lake Winnipesaukee.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
113 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Meet someone special here.”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We always love to go back to Artie's because the food is good and it was where my wife and I met for our first Match.com date, several years ago.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Verde1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    383
    190
    36
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Top Choice in Fairfax”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Artie's in our first choice when going out for a nice dinner. The food is absolutely delicious--we've yet to order anything that hasn't exceeded our expectations. The lobster bisque is so yummy! And the crab cakes are wonderful--just enough moisture to keep them together and still enjoy the taste of the crab! The waiters are attentive to every detail from start to finish, plus the decor is inviting and interesting. Definitely do call-ahead seating because everyone in Fairfax loves this restaurant! We give this 5 stars without question!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KY_Gal_ND_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Second to none”
Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

I had a meal at Artie's the first day they opened in the mid eighties, and was impressed by the quality of their food and service. That experience has been confirmed by hundreds of visits over the years. Artie's was the first of the Great American Restaurants. Their huge success is well deserved.

Helpful?
Thank Davidrharper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
153 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Nice Upscale Restaurant in Fairfax VA”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

This is a nice place for date night or for an upscale dinner. It gets seriously crowded on the weekends so a reservation is recommened or you may have to wait up to 30 minutes. The goat cheese and pecan salad is very good. Went there with friends after bowling at the nearby BowlAmerica for drinks and nibbles in late December. The drinks were ok, the nibbles were good but pricy ($9-10 each for calamari and spinch dip).

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank davidbViennaVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristow, Virginia
Level Contributor
670 reviews
482 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Visited on a Friday night and did the "call ahead seating". We arrived at 6:00 p.m. and got immediately seated. Good thing we got there when we did, since there was a lot of people waiting afterwards. The restaurant is a bit noisy but not horrible. We had fantastic service by our waiter Patric. The bread basket was excellent and the butter they bring is to die for (similiar to the same bread basket as you get at Sweetwaters another chain in the same restaurant). We split the southwest egg rolls and the salad with steak. Both were exceptional but for the cost of the salad a larger portion might be warranted. We also split a bottle of wine. Tab came to $54. Only problem we had was another waiter (they work in teams) brought our check to us while we were still finishing out wine and before we asked for it. Felt like he was rushing us to turn the table. Patric immediately came over and apologized. When the other waiter brought us our charge slip for my husband's signature he swapped credit cards and brought us some other ladies credit card and gave her my husband's. Patric (the waiter) immediately rectified the situation and assured that our meal was properly charged to our credit card and retrieved our credit card. It was a really nice evening and it was a shame that a careless waiter made the evening end this way. That is why I could only give a very good for service and overall rating instead of an excellent. Will go back again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kes1639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arties's also viewed

 

Been to Arties's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing