We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Top Choice in Fairfax” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arties's

Arties's
3260 Old Lee Hwy, Fairfax, VA 22030-1502
17032737600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 390 Restaurants in Fairfax
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Gluten Free
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Since 1978, Fairfax City's most popular restaurant. Enjoy boathouse favorites surrounded by handcrafted wooden boat scale models and Jack Gable's view of Lake Winnipesaukee.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Top Choice in Fairfax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Artie's in our first choice when going out for a nice dinner. The food is absolutely delicious--we've yet to order anything that hasn't exceeded our expectations. The lobster bisque is so yummy! And the crab cakes are wonderful--just enough moisture to keep them together and still enjoy the taste of the crab! The waiters are attentive to every detail from start to finish, plus the decor is inviting and interesting. Definitely do call-ahead seating because everyone in Fairfax loves this restaurant! We give this 5 stars without question!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KY_Gal_ND_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    315
    167
    31
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Second to none”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

I had a meal at Artie's the first day they opened in the mid eighties, and was impressed by the quality of their food and service. That experience has been confirmed by hundreds of visits over the years. Artie's was the first of the Great American Restaurants. Their huge success is well deserved.

Helpful?
Thank Davidrharper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
144 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Nice Upscale Restaurant in Fairfax VA”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This is a nice place for date night or for an upscale dinner. It gets seriously crowded on the weekends so a reservation is recommened or you may have to wait up to 30 minutes. The goat cheese and pecan salad is very good. Went there with friends after bowling at the nearby BowlAmerica for drinks and nibbles in late December. The drinks were ok, the nibbles were good but pricy ($9-10 each for calamari and spinch dip).

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank davidbViennaVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristow, Virginia
Level Contributor
585 reviews
422 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Visited on a Friday night and did the "call ahead seating". We arrived at 6:00 p.m. and got immediately seated. Good thing we got there when we did, since there was a lot of people waiting afterwards. The restaurant is a bit noisy but not horrible. We had fantastic service by our waiter Patric. The bread basket was excellent and the butter they bring is to die for (similiar to the same bread basket as you get at Sweetwaters another chain in the same restaurant). We split the southwest egg rolls and the salad with steak. Both were exceptional but for the cost of the salad a larger portion might be warranted. We also split a bottle of wine. Tab came to $54. Only problem we had was another waiter (they work in teams) brought our check to us while we were still finishing out wine and before we asked for it. Felt like he was rushing us to turn the table. Patric immediately came over and apologized. When the other waiter brought us our charge slip for my husband's signature he swapped credit cards and brought us some other ladies credit card and gave her my husband's. Patric (the waiter) immediately rectified the situation and assured that our meal was properly charged to our credit card and retrieved our credit card. It was a really nice evening and it was a shame that a careless waiter made the evening end this way. That is why I could only give a very good for service and overall rating instead of an excellent. Will go back again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kes1639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Reliably Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Artie's never disappoints. This is my favorite restaurant in the Washington, DC, metropolitan area. Here's what you need to know: in my book, this restaurant sets the gold standard for service, food quality, menu simplicity, decor, and even price. Perhaps to the detriment of other establishments, I tend to compare everyone to Artie's. We always take family and friends and it has always been a wonderful experience. We will return.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Silver_Lake23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arties's also viewed

 

Been to Arties's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing