We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently good!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arties's

Arties's
3260 Old Lee Hwy, Fairfax, VA 22030-1502
17032737600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 377 Restaurants in Fairfax
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Since 1978, Fairfax City's most popular restaurant. Enjoy boathouse favorites surrounded by handcrafted wooden boat scale models and Jack Gable's view of Lake Winnipesaukee.
Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Consistently good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Arties is our restaurant of choice when we want to take guests to a moderately priced-restaurant and be certain they will enjoy the food and experience. The menu variety gives everyone, even our vegetarian friends, plenty of choices. We ALWAYS call about an hour ahead, however, to put our name on their list to avoid a long wait.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BHJ29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Okay - I am a regular!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Consistently outstanding service, consistently outstanding food and consistently outstanding bar ... I am very fortunate to have been a customer of Arties for over 20 years now. They have the entire recipe right ... how they achieve consistency in great food and staff I will never know, but it brings me back over and over again.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank smemitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great prime rib and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Artie's serves a huge cut of prime rib on the weekend only. It is on the menu as "blackened" but they will serve it conventionally. It is slow roasted and then placed under the broiler for brief grilling. We have been there several times over the years and have been disappointed only when they ran out of prime rib before 7:30. Servings are huge and can be shared.
Waitstaff and management are wonderful. One time when they ran out of Prime Rib early on a saturday they offered us gift certificates for full meals so that we could return and not be disappointed.
They do not take reservations, but do offer the option of calling ahead so that you can be put on the wait list prior to your arrival.
It is a long drive for us, but has always been a real treat!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank IRNIEO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairport, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good food, reasonably priced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Good food, reasonably priced. Get there early on Friday/Saturday or long wait. Family friendly. Free parking.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ed K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May, New Jersey
Level Contributor
81 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Consistantly Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My wife and I have been going to Arties for well over 20 years. We love many menu items but we really love the consistantly great food prep and service. We have never had a bad experience at Arties! Their Salmon plank dinner is just fabulous and the accompanying sauce is wonderful. Their Caeser salad is one of the best around. Prime Rib, ribs, ribeye steaks, soup and side dishes are the best. And, it is always the best. You never go and get bad service, a tough or tasteless steak or a bad salad. They must really work hard on being consistant and it shows. Even our 8 year old granddaughter finds Arties to be her favorite.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arties's also viewed

 

Been to Arties's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing