We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fairfax Must-Eat Location”
Review of Arties's

Arties's
Ranked #1 of 419 Restaurants in Fairfax
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Since 1978, Fairfax City's most popular restaurant. Enjoy boathouse favorites surrounded by handcrafted wooden boat scale models and Jack Gable's view of Lake Winnipesaukee.
Melbourne, FL
Level Contributor
80 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A Fairfax Must-Eat Location”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Artie's is one of several restaurants in the area that are owned by Great American Restaurants (GAR to those of us who are locals). They are known for consistent, high quality food served by well trained wait staff. You won't find any happy hours or discounts here, so if you are looking for cheap, go elsewhere. The rib eye, salmon, portobello, chicken, and pasta dishes are all great. The bar at Artie's is dark and elegant, although the tvs over the bar do detract from the elegance. It's a good meeting place.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gillian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    392
    194
    36
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
1,271 reviews
595 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 505 helpful votes
“GOOD AMERICAN FOOD, GOOD SERVICE”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

I had lunch a couple of days ago with a friend from school. The food at Arties, which is part of the Great American group in the Washington DC area, is very good. The ambience is not spectacular but it is comfortable. The service was friendly and attentive. I had the crab cakes which are always good in the Great American chain. The desserts are excellent as well.
Another plus is that you can easily substitute sides from a separate list of sides.
The only negative about this place was the bathroom. It is small and the facilities are a little awkwardly situated--too close proximity. Other Great American restaurants I have enjoyed include Mike's American, Carlyle Gran, Ozzie's, and Coastal Flats.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VAChuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Arties is well located for friends coming from different directions to meet. The food is always good and the brussel sprouts they serve in the fall are delicious, and I have never liked brussel sprouts before I tried these.
I also like the booth, as some other Great Amerian resturants have wooden seats and no padding.
I have heard they have a great brunch but we have neer tried it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stevereeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Same good food from the coastal flats folks”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Apparently Artie's is owned by the Coastal Flats, mikes, sweet waters, and a bazillion other brands. It's a local va chain and all in all most of the themes hold true to decent food and good service. I tried Artie's for dinner and I am told their brunch rocks. Dinner was good and the atmosphere is usually good for date territory or a dinner with the folks. The crab fritter appetizer was really good as well as my BBQ burger and my girlfriends crab cakes. I haven't had bad food really at any of the concepts in this chain but you do see a swing in the bartending. All in all good date place for a dinner after a show in Fairfax.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jakob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
177 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Always a Winner!”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

I've been eating at Artie's since 2001 and have never been disappointed. Excellent menu, great service and some of the best bread you've ever tasted. No more bread for me but glad they have gluten free options available...just ask!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MissMuffet63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arties's also viewed

 

Been to Arties's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing