We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good Food and Lots of It”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Temel Restaurant - CLOSED

Temel Restaurant
Price range: $29 - $31
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Old Lee Highway
Description: Temel Euro Mediterranean Restaurant which serves dishes from Mediterranean region includes from Turkey, Greece and Israel.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
554 reviews
342 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Very Good Food and Lots of It”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2012

The meat (Doner) here is excellent - served with rice or yogurt/bread. The Temel appetizer platter is a crowd favorite - filled with all of their specialties. Don't let the strip center scare you off. This is a find. Service is great and parking is easy.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ace4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    6
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lovettsville, Virginia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Declining”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

Temel has been one of our favorites for several years although Nizam's in Vienna was the best Turkish restaurant in the area until they closed. Temel appears to be declining. The service is still attentive and excellent, but the food is not as good as it used to be. The kabobs are dry and over-cooked, the fish was not fresh (we had to send the swordfish back), and the appetizers were just average. We do not plan on going back.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Business_TravelerFFX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Tasty Turkish/Mediterranean food in Northern Virginia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

After my old Turkish favorite (Nizam's) closed down, I was a little disappointed. A quick google search however yielded: Temel http://www.temelrestaurant.com/ and I decided to try it for carry-out. The Lambchop Kebob was excellent. I also liked the veggie kebob side dish option. My wife really liked the Sukuk (sausage) pizza. I also was thrilled to discover that they deliver (5 mile radius -$50 minimum). So two weeks later, Shish yogurt, Moussaka, Lamb chops (again) and Hummus were on the menu. All very tasty. I highly recommend.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Heironymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The closest authentic turkish food I have had since we left Turkey”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2011

We lived in Turkey for three years and tried all the food we could. Temel offers the best of the best. You cannot go wrong with a visit there with friends or family. Beautiful setting inside, white table cloths, gleaming wine glasses, courteous service.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank salgal_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, MD
Level Contributor
390 reviews
315 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Excellent grilled meats, atmosphere and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2011

Based on Trip Advisor reviews, tried this place. It was very slow at lunch, with only 3 tables occupied. However, the food was excellent! Had mixed grill with ground lamb, beef shish kabob, chicken kabob and a lamb chop. Came with seasoned potatoes with vegetables and dill, and an herb garnish. Also had a cup of lentil soup (wonderful!) and Turkish coffee. Surroundings are relaxing and well designed. Service was great. Would go back. A little pricy at lunch (all day menu with grilled item entrees $17 - $23), but you can order Turkish pizza, other entrees like eggplant, spinach pie, etc., and appetizers, like hummus, baba ghanouj, dolmas, feta cheese, etc. Very "tucked away". South of 50... take Pickett one block to Old Pickett, and it's on the right in a small strip mall. It's back in the right corner of this strip mall, and the restaurant name isn't visible from the street.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tlhjar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing