We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad...(I am rounding up from 3.5)”

Dolce Vita Italian Kitchen and Wine Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Dolce Vita Italian Kitchen and Wine Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 419 Restaurants in Fairfax
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Pizza, Italian, Seafood, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Serving the best Italian food in Fairfax City for over 21 years! A full service restaurant with both classic and inventive Italian dishes, and a romantic wine bar with expert wine list and shareable small plates all brought to you by Executive Chef Anthony Grasso and house Sommelier Matthew McGuigan. Locally-sourced meats and produce, homemade pastas and pizzas, and farm-to-table ingredients are our passion.
Warrenton, Virginia
Level Contributor
352 reviews
251 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Not bad...(I am rounding up from 3.5)”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

This is a nice little Italian-American restaurant. The pizza was good (kids loved it). The pasta I had was really tasty. The grilled squid was ok. The eggplant app was so-so. My brother ordered the home made pasta with the braised meat sauce, and it was really good. I would not mind eating there again, but I would not go out of my way. Better than most of the Italian place I have been in NoVa.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thero_Kenman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    90
    35
    10
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Never disapointed”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I have been going to Dolce Vita at least once a week for several years and I have NEVER had a bad or even inconsistent meal, lunch or dinner. It is by far the best value for the money in the area.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bear_in_va
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very popular and deservedly so!”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We arrived at 5:30 last Saturday night and there were only a few tables available. By 5:45, the restaurant was full and humming. Despite the crowd the service and food were outstanding! My wife had the Calamari Alla Griglo and Trota Glassata, I had Insalada Spinaci and Vitello Della Casa, and we shared a bottle of chianti reserva. We will definitely go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ljfleisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairfax va
Level Contributor
137 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“very good italian neighborhood food”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

for many years my wife and i have been going to this local italian restaurant in fairfax virginia. we have enjoyed the great food, wine selection, ambiance and music. the wait staff bend over backwards to take care of you. it is all in the vision of the owner "joe" guiseppe ricciardi . he has created authentic cuisine and flavors that his mother who is there on occasion baking up some great treats in the summer has contributed to. worth the drive to the suburbs

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jefffairfax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beavercreek, Ohio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good wine list; food just okay”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Happy hour prices are good. Small plates to share is a great concept, but wasn't executed very well the night we were there. The food was mostly heavy and greasy; the pizza cones were inedible. The "Pollo Ossobuco" didn't resemble Ossobuco in the slightest; and while the balsamic sauce was tasty, the chicken was fatty and unappealing.
I do highly recommend the excellent marinated roasted vegetable plate served with crostini.
The wine selection was good. It would be nice if the wines were served at the proper temperatures. The red wine was downright warm; warmer than room temperature.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CatherineR270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dolce Vita Italian Kitchen and Wine Bar also viewed

 
Centreville, Fairfax County
 

Been to Dolce Vita Italian Kitchen and Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing