We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“The Good Life” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dolce Vita

Dolce Vita
Reserve with OpenTable
Dolce Vita is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 384 Restaurants in Fairfax
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“The Good Life”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Good food, at a very reasonable price. Good quality/authentic Italian food with prompt and courteous service. Good for a family or friends night out, not necessarily for the romantic - it gets a bit loud (in a good way).

Entrees were from around $18-25 with a nice selection of pasta, meat and fish. If you want something simplier there is a very good pizza menu to choose from. The only thing missing for my tastes was rissoto.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank VetTraveler56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    81
    33
    9
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
386 reviews
261 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“they now have valet parking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We have not been to this Italian restaurant for about 6 months. They appear to be under new ownership since I did not recognise the wait staff. The big plus is that they added valet parking which is fantastic since their parking area is small and convoluted. Same decor.

Menu is about the same especially our favorite grilled calamari appetizer. Food was as good as ever (although not as good as about 5 years ago when the entire staff appeared to be Italian) and service was very prompt and efficient. I had the cioppino (mussels, clams, shrimp, salmon) w linguini and my wife had her favorite dish of garlic shrimp over buttered/oiled angel pasta. Definitely will visit again sooner than 6 months.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 617BobR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Apple
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pleasant Italian restaurant. Nothing exceptional,but good food and service.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

It was a short distance from our hotel. Waiter was very helpful. Food was hot and tasty; prices were average.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank NYCJulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“So so bad...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

This place is terrible. It's one of the worst Italian places I have been to in the area. I am shocked at their ranking...

First, the waiters don't speak English and can't even answer simple questions about the menu. The ones who can, are rude and obnoxious.

Then, our cokes were served from an open pitcher and were completely flat. The restaurant also charges for coke refills, which isn't customary in this area.

The food was terrible. I ordered a pizza and my husband ordered a calzone. We were both SHOCKED at how bad and cheap the ingredients were. Just to get a perspective, my husband normally doesn't even notice the quality of cheap commercial pizzas, so for him to comment on the food ingredients being cheap and bad was pretty unique - which prompted me to write my very first restaurant review.

Finally, the kitchen is atrociously dirty. While walking to the bathrooms, the door to the kitchen was open. The floor looked like it hasn't been cleaned in months, and the food prep areas were scary.

The only good thing about this place is the price. But I guess you get what you paid for holds specially true here.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MMNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Mediocre...Was Once Great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

maybe a victim of time or maybe just too busy a place...but dolce vita, in my mind, has slipped to mediocre food quality. a great and varied menu, their brick oven pizzas are still great, but their entrees seem to be flavorless, pre-cooked (lacking freshness right off the stove, so to speak), and their wait staff have agrown inattentive. i ordered the grilled calamari...drowned in balsamic, and cold, rubbery like it was cooked a while earlier. then the chicken saltimbocca...dried out, bland, and the side of angel hair pasta was stuck in a clump, cold and with minimal sauce on it. other times there with whatever entree, the side of pasta was not al dente or freshly cooked. even the pizza sometimes comes out drowning in liquid in the center, or just doughy. and the waiters come around once at the beginning, then seldom seem again. a shame, because 10 years ago this was an intimate little place, never crowded. in sum, overrated, pushed-out italian food. my guest ordered the mahi special with olives and a red onion sauce...there were only 2 little pieces of olive in the dish, and no onion taste at all. perhaps people are swayed by the name and broad menu...the image of "veramente italiano" but in reality, another italian-american restaurant.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mike i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dolce Vita also viewed

 

Been to Dolce Vita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing