We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Our new hangout, fun with family and friends” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Angelika Film Center

Angelika Film Center
Ranked #3 of 6 Fun & Games in Fairfax
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Washington DC
Level Contributor
213 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Our new hangout, fun with family and friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Angelika Film center is a fun place to hang with family, friends. there is a super huge screen outside where they show concerts, movies for free. The movie house is fun place to see the latest movies and unique movies. You can drink beer and eat gourmet popcorn. We will definitely return to see future movies.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank L Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    32
    5
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Potomac, MD
Level Contributor
123 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“The Angelika Gift Card is USELESS”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

So, when I first started going to Angelia, I was thrilled that I could avoid the stress of having to get to the theater early to stand in line to buy a ticket and than the stress of standing around so I could be in the front part of the line to get a decent seat. It was great - let's go online, pick the movie and the seat, than show up whenever we want! And avoid all of the hassles at Tysons!!

In fact, my wife loved it so much, she told all her friends. Her friends were so impressed with my wife's comments - they bought her an Angelika gift card for her birthday

But here's the problem - you can't use it to buy tickets online - making their gift cards basically useless as far as I'm concerned.

So if you happen to get an Angelika Gift Card - leave early, stand in line, and hope the movie does not sell out before you get to the counter to use their gift card.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank UpInTheAirPotomac_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Terrific!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

A place like Angelika in the suburbia with selections other than mainstream movies is a pure delight. Their concession stand also offers great food and drink that one would not expect at most movie theaters, definitely added to the movie going experience. The cafe on the ground level makes a good cup of joe, even better than their sister establishment at NYC...

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank aysome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
121 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Odd Property Design”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Access to this property is confusing, in all respects.

The handicapped ramp runs from the rear of the building back to the front. An odd and difficult configuration, but I guess it meets code.

The lines for the seat selection/ticketing process are confusing. Is there one line, or two? No one seemed to know how best to navigate it in an equitable fashion.

The doors to the theaters themselves are quite narrow - 30 or 36 inch single doors. Would be very concerned about needing to exit rapidly through such a small opening.

Road traffic is aggressive in the crossing from the garage to the theater. Pedestrian walkway markings are absent.

One suggestion for the management is to enhance the seat selection process with photographs, similar to how some stadium seats are sold for sports venues.

End result of experience getting into theater was a somewhat grumpy attitude. No food service evident. May have been on another level of the vertical experience.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterNMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, VA
Level Contributor
137 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A step above the rest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This place is great and in a great location. I was skeptical when it first opened, but it has not disappointed. We have seen 3 movies there so far and definitely will be going back. At first I thought the prices were a little high until I realized that it's comparable with Tyson's or any of the other multiplexes...and you get to choose your seat when you buy your tickets...so no more getting there 30 minutes early just to avoid sitting up front. There are a number of places to eat in the new area and many more opening as we speak. They also server beer and wine, and have the new fancy soft drink dispensers with free refills. Go, it's worth the cost.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Angelika Film Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing