We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Simple, fresh Mexican” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Guapo's

Guapo's
Ranked #43 of 395 Restaurants in Fairfax
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Simple, fresh Mexican”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Chips very light, thin, homemade. Fresh salsa. Had the rosita chicken salad. Salad was just okay. Chicken well marinated and grilled. Great customer service. Bar an patio area nice bonus. Sit outside weather permitting. Enjoy!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Arlington9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    33
    13
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Fajitas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Started out with terrific light crispy chips and salsa. They brought us more as we ran low. Gotta be careful with the chips though, you could eatvthem all day. Wife and I both had fajitas. I had the steak ribs and quail. Fantastic. Wife had chicken and steak. Delicious. All was tender and tasty. Service was excellent. Highly recommend the combo fajitas.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dvdpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great American Mexican Restaurant - Superb Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

I reluctantly went to Guapo's last winter when my son asked for Mexican food. I am not a fan of most of the Mexican food as they have made it so Americanized and full of calories but I changed my mind after going to Guapo's. Yes, it is an Americanized version of Mexican food but the service is better than any restaurant (any kind) in the Northern Virginia. The waiters, the managers, the cheering staff that sings for birthday wishes... everyone is unique. The songs and the music they play reminded me of the kind of music we heard when I was growing. This is one of those restaurants where you don't have to wait and chase a waiter to get a refill. They keep pouring more and you have to tell them to stop. It is always a delight to go there. Food is better than most other Mexican restaurants and it is always plenty.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BilalG_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Mexican Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Guapo's is far better than On The Border or the other chains. The best part of all the Guapo's we have been is how the staff is constantly cleaning. Their restaurants are the cleanest around. The only thing about the Fair Lakes location is they don't have the rotisserie chicken, which is the best anywhere in the DC metro area.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeandLo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
459 reviews
334 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

By far, the best Mexican food I have ever had. Unlike chains such as On The Border, you can actually taste the food without loading it with that damned spicy crap. The margaritas are terrific and huge. A bit pricy compared to the dives, but worth it. Go to this place!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank eaglesclaw121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guapo's also viewed

 

Been to Guapo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing