We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Fun atmosphere, good food, great guapomole!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Guapo's

Guapo's
Ranked #44 of 384 Restaurants in Fairfax
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fun atmosphere, good food, great guapomole!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We went here last night for dinner to celebrate a friend's birthday. We were a little worried that they didn't accept reservations for Friday or Saturday nights, but our group of 10 didn't have to wait too long to be seated. The service was good, but it did take a while for us to get our drinks. The menu is full of good Mexican food options, and the 'guapomole' was a treat - tasted great! I had a chicken taco and cheese enchilada sampler, both were very good, as were the refried beans and rice. My husband had the mariscos (seafood soup-like dish, served with rice). He enjoyed the dish, but was not overwhelmed by it. Overall, this was a good restaurant to go to for a fun atmosphere (they came around and sang a birthday song for our friend and gave her a sombrero to wear!) and good Mexican food.

Tip: it is a bit loud, so this is definitely not a "romantic" or good date location.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RSEG2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    32
    13
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Amazing Carne Asada”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great service, ambiance and food! The Carne Adada was wonderful as were the plantains and the Guapo-mole. Would definitely come back next time I'm in Fairfax!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LCDQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdowne, Virginia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great food, great service and nice atmosphere!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

The only place to get great Mexican food in Fairfax County! The service is great, always friendly people. The chips and salsa are awesome and the food is great. The happy hour at the bar is awesome with $3 margs and $2 beer. Don't go to don Pablo's or any other place.... Go here! The steak tacos are amazing!!

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LoveLifeAlways7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
130 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good food, great service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

This is a favorite Mexcian restaurant of ours. Great fajitas and wonderful service. Their seafood burrito is also delicious, as is much of their other menu items. My wife really likes their appetizer tamale and quesodilla. A great family place. We also appreciate their willingness to adapt recipes for dairy allergies.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sandbeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We went early on a Saturday night, which was good since the place was packed when we left. The atmosphere is jovial and can get a bit noisy. We got the carne asada fajitas and the chicken fajitas and were pleased with both. They were quite good. I had a margarita. They have two sizes and I chose the small. I was glad I did as the drink packed quite a punch. They didn't skimp on the tequila. Their chips were just as I like them: thin and crispy and the salsa was pretty good. We'll definitely be going back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Snorkelaholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guapo's also viewed

 

Been to Guapo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing