We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great service and nice atmosphere!”
Review of Guapo's

Guapo's
Ranked #45 of 419 Restaurants in Fairfax
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Lansdowne, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great food, great service and nice atmosphere!”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

The only place to get great Mexican food in Fairfax County! The service is great, always friendly people. The chips and salsa are awesome and the food is great. The happy hour at the bar is awesome with $3 margs and $2 beer. Don't go to don Pablo's or any other place.... Go here! The steak tacos are amazing!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LoveLifeAlways7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    36
    15
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good food, great service!”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

This is a favorite Mexcian restaurant of ours. Great fajitas and wonderful service. Their seafood burrito is also delicious, as is much of their other menu items. My wife really likes their appetizer tamale and quesodilla. A great family place. We also appreciate their willingness to adapt recipes for dairy allergies.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sandbeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We went early on a Saturday night, which was good since the place was packed when we left. The atmosphere is jovial and can get a bit noisy. We got the carne asada fajitas and the chicken fajitas and were pleased with both. They were quite good. I had a margarita. They have two sizes and I chose the small. I was glad I did as the drink packed quite a punch. They didn't skimp on the tequila. Their chips were just as I like them: thin and crispy and the salsa was pretty good. We'll definitely be going back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Snorkelaholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, VA
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good location, ambience, average food”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

This Guapos is in the Fairlakes mall. The decor and high noise levels are adequate for a decent Mexican restaurant. Our party of 4 was seated at a table about 3 1/2 feet square. By the time our food arrived, reaching for the chips or a drink was like doing gymnastics. Food was very average, it is probably too Mexican? and prices are high. For a $7 Guapos margarita I got a small glass that had probably 3 oz of liquid in it. A few slurps and it was gone. I think "On the Border" is a better place, more food for the money and tasty too.

If you go for a birthday, they put a sequined sombrero on the birthday person and sing a real noisy song in Espaniol.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dustoff_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pompano beach florida
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Incas, Aztecs and Mayans, ... Unite !”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Our energy level upon arrival was SO HIGH because we - Along with Ben Afflack and 6 others had just escaped revolutionary Iran in a Swiss Air 747 ... okay,okay, it was a movie ... but we got thru Guapo's check point and into a giant tequila based beverage in an instant.

We four all flipped the menus open and shut and exclaimed: Fajitas !

Savvy, world adventurers such as we are, find it just plain enjoyable to sit back and shout out the Tex-Mex schtick offerings - planned in a NYC board room by a corporate chef. Guapo's was somehow different. to wit: everyone working, every position was, refreshingly Latino.

So, How was the food? Let me finish. the service was snappy ... everyone assisted their co-workers. I got dizzy watching the plates moving on and off the table. The cheeps-paper thin and hot, the salsa, thick and fresh.

And the fajitas ... were EXCELLENT. full cuts of beef and chicken, not paper thin slices.

Shucks, we even fell for the fried ice cream. Just a fun time with us -- the fun bunch.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank volvo57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guapo's also viewed

 

Been to Guapo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing