We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Love Dog Fish!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dogfish Head Alehouse

Dogfish Head Alehouse
Ranked #10 of 384 Restaurants in Fairfax
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Love Dog Fish!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

The fish tacos on the " special" menu in Fairfax are addictive and the best thing on the menu, but everything is great. Also love the Spring salad. Soooo happy they added outdoor seating!!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    103
    33
    10
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairport, New York
Level Contributor
68 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great brewer meets good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Dogfish has on tap many brews they are famous for. Their food is a cut above nationwide chains that serve salads and burgers. I wish they had more locations.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank ppipub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, VA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“This is the place to sample a variety of ales. The food isn't bad, either.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We decided to try Dogfish Head because it is about half-way between us and another couple we were meeting for lunch. We were all impressed with the extensive selection of ales, and much enjoyed the ones we tried. Everyone in the party was also pleased with the food - on this occasion, grouper, chicken, and roast beef sandwiches. The servers were friendly and efficient. We've already been back twice within a month.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Dogfish”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Small cozy bar. In places a bit too smile. Neighborhood crowd. Food was good, but had the steak and it was cooked okay. Seasoning was good. A bit of a tough cut. Overall good experience.

    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Holamobile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
444 reviews
322 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“Don't Understand the Raves”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We saw the ranking and had to try it. The food was average, at best I got the feeling the raves are because of the beer selection, which is good. My wife and I thought the food was equal to say an Applebee's or Ruby Tuesday. We won't go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank eaglesclaw121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dogfish Head Alehouse also viewed

 

Been to Dogfish Head Alehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing