We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Auto pilot when looking for brew and pub food in FFX” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dogfish Head Alehouse

Dogfish Head Alehouse
Ranked #8 of 410 Restaurants in Fairfax
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Auto pilot when looking for brew and pub food in FFX”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

So glad this place continues to thrive cause there is nothing else like it in the area. Excellent beer selection with great seasonals. The food is much better than one would expect. The wings are amazing...served really hot and delicious. I think I've tried most of the items off the bar menu...good stuff.
Another great thing is that it's a family friendly place. I often see parents with their kids in the restaurant area. The outdoor patio is a great recent addition. Although it's next to the parking lot, they've done a good job of planting around it. Will only get better with time.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank whatplan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    110
    36
    10
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Around good place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

During the day this is a good place for both adults looking for a good beer and families. At night it is a bar and I would not take kids. The food has always been good. They do have a children's menu. The service is great. The appetizers are exceptional along with the beer selection. This is our go to place to chill out. We took my sister and her family out Saturday afternoon for lunch and I think they will be going back on their own as well. It does get loud at night so this is not a quiet romantic place. During the day the noise level is much lower (which I like).

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kmdbike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to eat and after work”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

A great place for happy hour. The atmosphere is really good and so is the food. The service at the bar was great and they had a nice selection of drinks on tap.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Aglosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Delicious food, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

Tried this place for the first time on Trip Advisor recommendation. It did not let us down. Our server John R. was top notch, excellent service. We started off with Thai wings. My husband does not really care for wings, but these he loved, I had to remind him we are splitting these. I ordered a rueben with fries and he had the crab cake entree with asparagus and fries. Both were delicious. We will be coming back and also asking for John. This place will not disappoint. The beer was great as well!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank castlefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac Falls, Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Service and of Course Great Beer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

By far the better of the 2 in Virginia. Easier to get to, better service. We were lucky enough to be offered the private dinning table in the front. Which was great since there were about 12 of us. The service was great from the bar to our table. Beer as always is great, i do wish you could choose your own sampler. Its a great place to go with family, friends or a night out. They even have live music.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dogfish Head Alehouse also viewed

 

Been to Dogfish Head Alehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing