We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service and of Course Great Beer” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dogfish Head Alehouse

Dogfish Head Alehouse
Ranked #9 of 390 Restaurants in Fairfax
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Gluten Free
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Potomac Falls, Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Service and of Course Great Beer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

By far the better of the 2 in Virginia. Easier to get to, better service. We were lucky enough to be offered the private dinning table in the front. Which was great since there were about 12 of us. The service was great from the bar to our table. Beer as always is great, i do wish you could choose your own sampler. Its a great place to go with family, friends or a night out. They even have live music.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    95
    32
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Amazing Service & Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Dogfish has never let me down yet as I am a regular customer. Always greeted warmly at the door. The servers are very friendly and conscientious. The food is great also!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Feismum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food, great beer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

While the beer is the star of the restaurant, the food is fabulous, too. Its a great restaurant for families and the service is great!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Runnergirl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
216 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great place to meet friends and have beer and a bite to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We have eaten at the DFH Alehouse several times and have never been disapointed for both lunch and dinner meals. We have dined as a couple and in a large crowd. The service has always been fine at the host stand and our wait staff has always been better than average. The beer is good and the menu is not extensive but we have enjoyed everything from burgers to salads to the fish & chips. The Old Bay Wings are my absolute favorite. It is loud-ish on weekend nights so if you are dining with small kids you might want to either dine earlier.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank J G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
“Good Times, Food and Beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Was on a recent business trip in the area and went to Dogfish for dinner based on the tripadvisor reviews. I was eating alone that evening so I wanted a place that had a bar that I could sit down and have dinner. The place was crowded but I was able to find a place at the bar almost immediately. I didn't have to wait long for the bar tender to ask me what I wanted to drink and if I wanted a menu, despite being very busy. His service was excellent and friendly all evening. I had a couple of their IPA's which were excellent. I was very pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food. The portions were generous and everything was very well prepared and absolutely delicious. I ordered the Thai wings and the Mahi Mahi tacos. I could see myself returning on my next trip to Fairfax.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JMANFROMNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dogfish Head Alehouse also viewed

 

Been to Dogfish Head Alehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing