We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Deal in the Area for a Variety of Entertainment.”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Center for the Arts
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best Deal in the Area for a Variety of Entertainment.”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

GMU Center for the Arts, located on the iniversity campus, is a marvellous place to catch a jazz concert, an opera, classical orchestral music, ballet, modern dance and many other forms of entertainment for sometimes less than half the price you would pay in Washington DC. There is pleny of free parking and a covered parking deck if you don't mind paying for the convenience.Check their website for a list of future performances.Join the Friends - make friends and enjoy extra privileges. With Center for the Arts and Wolftrap we have a true bounty of entertainment in our area.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lindatee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    18
    2
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Kennedy Center Rival”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

This gem is, in some ways, a hidden treasure in the DC area. The center hosts many world-class performers each year, many of whom also perform at the Kennedy Center at ticket prices that are more than double form those at CFA. My wife and I have been "friends" of CFA for many years, and regularly take one of their "season" packages, which yields even more discounts, and even free events. Anyone living within a reasonable driving distance should take every advantage of this magnificent venue.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kost1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“GMU Center for the Arts - Great Value, Great Entertainment”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

My wife and I only recently learned about the great shows at the GMU Center for the Arts. Most recently we saw Sir James Galway and the Irish Chamber Orchestra there. It was outstanding. The thing we like about the Center for the Arts is the caliber of the performers and performances, and the fact that ticket prices are better than any other venue in the area.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jack C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia, Usa
Level Contributor
107 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Local Performance Venue!”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

I have visited this performance venue since it opened and I have always had a great experience here. The parking is plentiful, the building is nice, and the staff is great.

I have seen many preformance here including several theatrical plays, and many concerts. I have never had any problems finding parking. Also each time the staff has gone out of their way to be friendly and helpful.

As for the seating, I can truly say that this is one of the performance venues that there are absolutely no bad seats. From every seat in the venue, you will be able to easily see the stage.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax Station, Virginia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Local venue for great performances”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Located on the George Mason University campus, this performing arts center is a beautiful facility. Great sound and viewing from any seat. Pricing is not exorbitant and if you are a "friend" of the center you get discount pricing, ability to exchange tickets and great customer service, plus a meet and greet area prior to performances and during intermissions. Many well known local, national and international artists and performing groups. Disabled friendly too. Parking deck next door with flat rate fee. Mason Inn and Conference Center located very nearby on campus for pre-dinner or after drinks.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Center for the Arts also viewed

 

Been to Center for the Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing