We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful staff; good for the price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Fairfax - Fair Oaks Mall

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Fairfax - Fair Oaks Mall
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Fairfax
Winchester, Virginia
1 review
“Helpful staff; good for the price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

We were looking for a place to stay as we were moving. The location was convenient for us. The staff, especially, Rishi & Sara, were helpful and friendly. We needed help setting up the room for my husband, who is confined to a wheelchair. Rishi went out of his way to make things work for us. We would have enjoyed a wider selection of TV channels. The price ($2.00 per load) seemed excessive for doing laundry. Still, we are grateful for having a clean, safe place to stay for just over 3 weeks.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Fairfax - Fair Oaks Mall, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Terry - I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. I am glad to read that you were pleased with the services we provided. One of the greatest rewards of my job is receiving encouraging feedback such as yours. Our staff takes pride is creating a memorable, exceptional “home away from home” for our guests. Hearing that we have accomplished that goal means that we have delivered you the value and experience you expect.

Thank you again for your kind words. The staff and I would love to provide you with another comfortable stay in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    16
    9
    12
    15
See reviews for
20
10
20
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

This is not a newly remodeled hotel. The staff is wonderful and the property is clean, but if you are looking forward to a newly remodeled hotel you will be disappointed. The Grab and Go breakfast apparently closes when they want to close it. It was coffee, packaged muffins, oatmeal, fruit and breakfast bars

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mona A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Fairfax - Fair Oaks Mall, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Mona - Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. We appreciate the kind comments about our staff as well as the level of cleanliness throughout our entire property; however, we apologize for not communicating our grab and go breakfast start and end times properly. This is offered every morning from 6:00am to 9.:30am.

Thanks to your feedback, we can continue to work on providing an exceptional stay for all of our guests. If you have any additional feedback, please reach out to me at dcf@extendedstay.com. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. We hope we have the opportunity to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
88 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is more like an apt with a lobby, but the price is right for a person or family on a budget.

the good: 1. The shower pressure is awesome and the water HOT. 2. Great location at Fair Oaks Mall. 3. Full kitchenette, so you can dine in and eat healthy. 4. There is a grocery store right across the street, and lots of restaurants and mall right there. 5. The front desk staff were very nice and really made me feel welcome and valued. They have a basket up front so you can ask for things you might have forgotten, including popcorn! ;) 6. There's grab and go breakfast: includes coffee, muffins, bars, oranges, apples, and oatmeal packages. 7. Free wifi that worked great on my iPad. 8. Nice flat screen tv with show time. 9. Pool, but no hot tub. 9. Easy parking

This place is not for those accustomed to Marriott or Hilton. There's no maid service (without extra fee) unless you are there more than a week, and then it's once a week. There is no toiletries. The AC / heater is manual (no thermostat). You have to ask for more linens. And my fridge made noises that gave me nightmares, but that could have been just my room.

So, if you are staying just a night or two, it would be a great value. If you are staying longer and like to be more pampered, you should spring for the Bigger chain hotel.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Doreen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Fairfax - Fair Oaks Mall, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Doreen - The staff and I read your review, and would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us! We appreciate you letting us know that the refrigerator in your room was creating some noise. We are sorry for this disturbance, but are happy to read that we provided you with great service that you can expect (and deserve) from all of our hotels.

Thank you again for sharing all of your feedback and please contact me directly at afimowicz@extendedstay.com if there is anything I can do for you. We would love to see you again, should your travels bring you back to our area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

It was fun staying in extended stay America,i felt like home.Front desk was very cooprative, friendly,room service was good,free car parking.
i will recommend you guys this hotel if you are having vacation with your family this would be your final destination.
Najam Abbas

Room Tip: The best thing about this location is this is so quiet that you ll love it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank najam a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob D, Manager at Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Fairfax - Fair Oaks Mall, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
I am so happy your family enjoyed our Hotel. The rooms are perfect with the full kitchen! Thank you so much for taking the time to share the nice comments. We are looking foward to seeing you next time you are in the area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Recently renovated, so super clean rooms. Really worth the money. Grab-and-go breakfast is not great though. Two types coffee, packed muffin and some oatmeals/bars. Very close to the Fair Oaks mall. Staff was helpful too. Laundry needs quarters, which will be provided at the reception, but sometimes they will run out of it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beach M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob D, Manager at Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Fairfax - Fair Oaks Mall, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to send us your comments. I am so happy you enjoyed our staff and location. Thank you so much for choosing us and we hope to see you again when you return to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

The rooms are clean, well maintained and modern. The staff are fantastic, friendly and helpful.
They remember your name in the morning and say hello when they see you.

When you are travel on very long trips these kinds of things really do make a difference and I really appreciate their extra effort.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thor_61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob D, Manager at Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Fairfax - Fair Oaks Mall, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for talking the time to share your comments with us. I agree. It is so nice when you are away from home to have someone call you by name. I am so glad we were able to make your stay an enjoyable one. Please come back to us when you are in the area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stayed at this location for over 1 month while looking for a permanent place to live in the area. The staff was consistently friendly. The location was very convenient to work and highways. Lots of shopping, eateries, a mall, grocery stores etc. nearby. The accomodations were comfortable and clean. I enjoyed having a refrigerator, cooktop, dishes and flatware provided. The Grab and Go Breakfast with coffee, muffins, oatmeal, cereal bars and fresh fruit was nice on rushed mornings. I would stay here again!

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank DRW12055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob D, Manager at Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Fairfax - Fair Oaks Mall, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review on Tripadvisor. I can't tell you how happy I was to hear you comments about how much you enjoyed your stay. We look foward to seeing you when you are in our area next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fairfax hotels
0.5 mi away
Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Fairfax
1.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Fairfax
0.4 mi away
Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Fairfax - Fair Oaks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Fairfax
3.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Fairfax
BEST WESTERN Fairfax
#8 of 21 in Fairfax
4.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Fairfax - Fair Oaks Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Fairfax - Fair Oaks Mall

Property: Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Fairfax - Fair Oaks Mall
Address: 12055 Lee Jackson Memorial Hwy, Fairfax, VA 22033-3314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Fairfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Fairfax - Fair Oaks Mall 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Extended Stay, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Fairfax - Fair Oaks Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay America Fairfax
Extended Stay Fairfax
Fairfax Extended Stay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing