We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book a Stay + Win a Getaway Book your hotel on TripAdvisor and you could win a great trip!

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Candlewood Suites Fairfax

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Fairfax
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Fairfax
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2008

I highly recommend this place as it's clean, quiet and safe. We found it most convenient to go to Washington D.C. and easy to go shopping as long as you have a car. The staff are friendly and helpful. On top of the above, it is very affordable compared with the high room rates in the city of Washington. we don't mind spending half and hour or so going for business and returning. It is just like staying at home.

Stayed October 2008
Thank VirginiaEdward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
See reviews for
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berwyn, PA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2008

We were attending a family event locally and wanted low cost accommodations for one evening. I checked the area and check Travel Advisor and settled on the Candlewood in Fairfax. I have had ok experiences with other Candlewood locations when traveling for work.

Cost was ~78 dollars with AAA discount and I setup reservations for a suite, non-smoking with a queen and a pull out sofa and I asked for a cot as my sons do not want to sleep in the same bed. I told OK and get a reservation number.

So what did we get…

Queen, smoking, no cot, no towels, not enough blankets, no wash clothes.

I did get towels for the front desk, we went to get the sheets for the pull out sofa, after the staff of one brought up the cot.

To be fair – one man in a hotel of that size, in what is rapidly becoming a rundown modern hotel, is doomed to provide an unacceptable level of service.

The fellow at the front desk did give us an additional 10% discount but I would have preferred to get what we booked…

“A clean, non-smoking room with complete linens with beds as reserved”

So no more Candlewood for me or anyone I can pass the message to.


  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
Thank capferat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DHMFairfax_Va, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Fairfax, responded to this review, December 12, 2008
The Management and Team at the Candlewood Suites Fairfax appreciate the comments made by this guest. Since this incident occured we have renewed guest service training and added support mechanisms to assist our team members in providing guests with the service they expect and deserve. We encourage all prospective guests that are viewing these reviews to feel free at any time to contact the General Manager, Dave Monroe should they have any questions or to us know if we have met their expectations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
379 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 317 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2006

I have to agree entirely with the two thumbs up. We visited DC for three weeks (and still didn't see everything - what an incredible city!). A downtown hotel would have been prohibitively expensive and besides, who needs to have the room made up every day? The Candlewood cleans the room once a week, but fresh towels are available at the desk anytime.

We paid around $90/night, far less than in DC, and taxes are lower. In addition we saved a fortune by eating in. Sure, we like restaurants and we did go out a few times (try Ethiopian in DC), but night after night? After a full day of sightseeing we just wanted to take off our shoes and sit comfortably. The Wegmans nearby has a fantastic selection of prepared foods, including Chinese, Thai, pasta and Caesar salads made to order, as well as roast chickens, etc. There's a Chili's around the corner, with a good pizzeria next door to it. All far cheaper than a restaurant, especially if you buy wine and/or beer. You can sit in comfort at your table in the room and put the leftovers in the fridge.

To get into DC we drove to the last Metro stop and took their safe, comfortable public transit. The places you want to see mostly don't open till 9:30 anyway and close by 5, with not a lot of nightlife. So the extra travel time is no serious problem, and you get to know the city and its people better.

You know how some hotels nickel and dime you with charges? This place is the opposite. For laundry, washers and dryers are free. There's a small shop operated on the honor system. You can take soft drinks, snacks and even some small frozen meals, all at reasonable prices for which you deposit money or a chit with your room number. There's a supply of free condiments like mustard, ketchup, mayo and soy sauce. There's also a VCR in the room, with a selection of videos you can borrow at the front desk, all for free.

The staff here is really commendable. They seem to actually enjoy their jobs. For the whole three weeks everyone we saw was friendly, to us and to other guests. The manager threw a BBQ with free food and beer for the guests.

I think that extended-stay places are great ways of touring a city if you're going to be in the area for more than a few days. I just with they were built closer in. In the meantime, I'd definitely recommend this Candlewood and plan to try others.

  • Liked — Value for money
  • Disliked — Distance from city
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
4 Thank Lucky_Eddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2004

We stayed 3 nights at Candlewood Suites (6/4/2004 - 6/6/2004). It was a very nice place to stay. The desk people were friendly, and the amenities were great. Free use of laundry room, exercise room, free VCR movies to watch in room, a well stocked snack room are just a few of the things that make this a nice place to stay. The rooms are nice, with a queen bed, kitchen with stove top, micro wave oven, fridge, sink and dishwasher. They supply eating and cooking utensils as well as paper towels, dish washing liquid and dishwasher powder. The freezer has an icemaker too. It had all the comforts that we needed during our stay. Grocery store, 7-11, and gas station were only 3 blocks away. DC takes 20 - 30 minutes to get to depending on traffic (which always seems to be bad no matter where you go around DC). I would highly recommend this place to anyone who wants a comfortable and quiet place to stay for a few days. Happy trails.....

10 Thank professor_plum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fairfax hotels
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Fairfax
1.9 mi away
#7 of 21 in Fairfax
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Fairfax City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Residence Inn Fairfax City
0.7 mi away
Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Fairfax Fair Oaks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Fairfax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Fairfax

Property: Candlewood Suites Fairfax
Address: 11400 Random Hills Rd, Fairfax, VA 22030-6010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Fairfax
#4 Family Hotel in Fairfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Fairfax 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience our new Comforts of Home Bedding Collection. At the Candlewood Suites Washington-Fairfax we put the amenities where they count: in our suites. Each suite features a fully equipped kitchen with a microwave, 2 burner stove, refrigerator ice maker, dishwasher and the utensils needed for cooking. Every guest room at the Fairfax Candlewood Suites offers free high-speed Internet, and a comfortable executive desk & chair.Enjoy free use of the hotel s fitness center, business services, and laundry facilities. Relax in an overstuffed recliner while enjoying a CD or VCR tape from the hotel s free library. The hotel also has the renowned Candlewood Cupboard, a small convenience store where you can purchase items 24/7 at a reasonable price.The pet friendly Candlewood Suites Fairfax is conveniently located near the Pentagon, NRA museum, George Mason University, Patriot Center, Dulles Expo & Conference Center, Fair Oaks Mall, and Fairfax County Courthouse. Use the Vienna Metro station just 4 miles away to visit the many area attractions in Washington, DC. Dulles Airport IAD and Reagan National Airport DCA are within 14 miles.This extended stay hotel caters to business and government travelers. Best of all, every night you stay at the Candlewood Suites Washington-Fairfax you will earn Priority Club Rewards points! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Candlewood Suites Fairfax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Fairfax Hotel Fairfax
Candlewood Fairfax
Fairfax Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing