We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Fairfax
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Fairfax
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
“Best hotel ever!”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This is our Home away from Home. The manager: Abraham is fabulous. He makes Candlewood look really good! He is just great and genuinely cares about the customers. We live in Ohio and this was our 3rd time staying at this location when we have visited DC. We will never stay anywhere else! The hotel is maintained well & clean. Family-friendly environment. I am impressed and would refer this location to anyone staying in the area. I cannot say it enough though, Abraham is an asset to the Candlewood and I dont know if he will see this but he needs to know that he is appreciated! Our next visit to DC will be next year and once again we will be staying at this location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCndlFrFx, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Fairfax, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Shannel6
Thank you for rating our Hotel, the Canldewood Suites Fairfax, as the "Best Hotel Ever" I promise not to let that go to our heads, and pledge to continue doing everything we can for guests such as you to ensure each and evey guest has a Great Experience !
We look forward to seeing you again soon !
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    72
    15
    9
    9
See reviews for
56
53
68
147
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Well-appointed, well-maintained rooms with a convenient and fully loaded kitchenette. Friendly staff, 24 hr gym, complimentary laundry and a 7/11 kind of shop downstairs. A stone's throw away from a lot of nice eating joints and very conveniently located if you want to go to the DC area. I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thediscerning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCndlFrFx, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Fairfax, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear thediscerning
Thank you for you comments on Trip Advisor regarding the Candlewood Suites Fairfax. We are glad you found our rooms well appointed and staff to be friendly. Our Cupboard is a great feature of Candlewood Suites, offering a wider slection than most hotels, and open 24 hours a day, just incase you need a late night snack or frozen dinner. We are convient to public trasportation options
that give you easy access to Washington DC, yet we are located in a quiet residential location giving you the peace of mind to relax and unwind.
We hope to see you again in the future, and thank you for choosing to be our guest !
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

i booked a room last minute online on friday night, my husband and i were coming from different states and he was going to arrived earlier than me. i called the front desk and i spoke to Ibraham, he was so nice and explained me that my husband could check in earlier if i wasnt there(keys left at a box in the entrance).after that i called him at least 5 times because i couldnt find the hotel and he explained me step by step how to get there. Excellent customer service !!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vverti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCndlFrFx, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Fairfax, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear NasaEd
Thank You for taking the time tp write a review for us on Trip Advisor. Your comments and opinions are very valuable to us. Im glad we were able to serve as a suitable base during your 6 day stay, and hope you consider us again in the future on any return visits t the DC area.
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lompoc, California
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We spent 6 nights there with my sons family in a nearby room. We were family sightseeing in DC.It was recently repainted, was very clean, and had plenty of amenities: decent workout room, free laundry, barbeque areas, fully furnished kitchenettes, free coffee etc. Only issues were very minor--the drain for the A/C plugged but they were quick to fix it and dried the carpet, the hot and cold were reversed on all the water faucets but that was easy to figure out. We were on the first floor and never heard anything through the walls, but the herd of elephants above us were occasionally annoying. Wouldn't hurt to spend some money on soundproofing the ceiling. There are plenty of good restaurants, groceries and malls nearby and it's about three miles miles from the Metro park and ride so its a 5 minute drive and 15 minutes by metro to the tourist attractions without driving into DC. Very friendly staff, plenty of replacements towels if you want and an honor pantry with food and toiletries no more expensive than a 7-11 Will stay there again--but this time I will get a room on the third (top) floor.

Room Tip: Back rooms face I-66 so best bet is third floor front for max quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NASAEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCndlFrFx, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Fairfax, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Werti
Thank you for writing your review on Trip Advisor. Ibraham is on of our susperstars, and Im glad he was able to guide you in when you were lost and make you and your husband feel welcome. We look forward to having you stay with us in the future, and feel free to contact me should you have any questions
Thank You
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This was my first time staying in an extended stay so I was a little nervous about it. However, Ibrahim and the staff are super nice and accommodating. Even though they have over a hundred guests walking in and out, they often greet you by name. Free internet is ok for youtube and email but can be bogged down in the evening and weekends when everyone is using it. Room has everything you need including cookware, silverware, and even a dishwasher. Room is very clean.Free laundry and gym that is open 24/7 despite the sign outside saying it closes at 10pm. If I stay in the area again I would choose Candlesuite Fairfax in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ntekteem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCndlFrFx, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Fairfax, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Ntekteem
Thank You for taking time to write a review for the Candlewood Suites Fairfax. Even though this was your first extended stay experience, we are glad that you found it to meet your needs. We greatly appreciate your comments and look forward to the opportunity to serve you again in the future !
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We took a staycation and booked a hotel for some faux getaway time. What I like about Candlewood is that its like an apartment- stovetop range, pots, pans, dishes, and a sink were a great addition to the room. The room itself was clean and well kept, I just wish the walls weren't so thin, the floor didn't shake when you walk on it, and the check in/out system was more efficient. Essentially we had to call for someone to come to the little desk each time. The DVD player didn't work, and the collection of movies to watch was outdated VHS's but it was charming I guess. Overall, for the price, it was a great find on short notice and I cant expect the world. Just putting in my two cents!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCndlFrFx, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Fairfax, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Kimberly
Thank You for your review of the Candlewood Suites Fairfax. Im sorry your Stay Vacation was not al that you hoped for, please accept our apologies. If you would be willing to give us another try, contact me directly at 703-359-4490, ext7800. I would love to talk to you further about your experience and offer you a one night stay on the house.
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This is one of the best and all time great stays; Close to the the Whitehouse and Downtown area close to the Nutley Fairfax subway system; Get to the Downtown area in just 30 minutes. Okay Fairfax a great established area that's wonderful to stay in great food ; The Candlewood has been fitted with brand new carpet in the rooms and down the hall fresh paint and great service. They bend over backwards for you here. Folks all the Candlewoods are pretty good but you have to stay here once in your life anyway; Shopping in walking distance great food all over the place and walk to the grocer store and hear the wonderful birds sing their songs. I was there last week and went Downtown to meet with the whos who of Washington D.C. and cant wait to get back to my second home. The rates are great you are in the safe hands in Fairfax and all of Washington D.C. go visit your Nations Capitol and do yourself a favor and visit the France of the U.S. Its a great time and costs very little because WHY Everything is free , free , free . Ask not what your Country can do for you but what you can do for your Country". Its close to Downtown you can drive , you can walk , you can ride a bike there .

Room Tip: try to get into a suite that's my favorite High ceilings and a separate bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCndlFrFx, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Fairfax, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear James
Thank You for your glowing review of the Candlewood Suites Fairfax. My team and I appreciate your endorsement, and will strive to meet and exceed the high level of service that you had experienced during your stay.
While we are not perfect, I am privileged to serve with a dedicated team that is focused on providing the best possible service that are able to provide.
Thank You
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fairfax hotels
2.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Fairfax
Hyatt Regency Fairfax
#8 of 21 in Fairfax
100 reviews
1.9 mi away
Residence Inn Fairfax City
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Fairfax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Fairfax Fair Oaks
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Fairfax City
1.9 mi away
Best Western Fairfax
Best Western Fairfax
#9 of 21 in Fairfax
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Fairfax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Fairfax

Property: Candlewood Suites Fairfax
Address: 11400 Random Hills Rd, Fairfax, VA 22030-6010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Fairfax
#3 Business Hotel in Fairfax
#4 Family Hotel in Fairfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Fairfax 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience our new Comforts of Home Bedding Collection. At the Candlewood Suites Washington-Fairfax we put the amenities where they count: in our suites. Each suite features a fully equipped kitchen with a microwave, 2 burner stove, refrigerator ice maker, dishwasher and the utensils needed for cooking. Every guest room at the Fairfax Candlewood Suites offers free high-speed Internet, and a comfortable executive desk & chair.Enjoy free use of the hotel s fitness center, business services, and laundry facilities. Relax in an overstuffed recliner while enjoying a CD or VCR tape from the hotel s free library. The hotel also has the renowned Candlewood Cupboard, a small convenience store where you can purchase items 24/7 at a reasonable price.The pet friendly Candlewood Suites Fairfax is conveniently located near the Pentagon, NRA museum, George Mason University, Patriot Center, Dulles Expo & Conference Center, Fair Oaks Mall, and Fairfax County Courthouse. Use the Vienna Metro station just 4 miles away to visit the many area attractions in Washington, DC. Dulles Airport IAD and Reagan National Airport DCA are within 14 miles.This extended stay hotel caters to business and government travelers. Best of all, every night you stay at the Candlewood Suites Washington-Fairfax you will earn Priority Club Rewards points! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Candlewood Suites Fairfax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Fairfax Hotel Fairfax
Candlewood Fairfax
Fairfax Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing