We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent service, great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Fairfax

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Fairfax
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Fairfax
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent service, great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

This hotel stands out for its excellent service. Our family stayed here for an extended period of time while my husband was in town on business. Every staff member we ran into was friendly, helpful & always making sure that our stay was enjoyable. The rooms were comfortable & equipped with desk, sofa/easy chair, microwave & fridge. Ideally, you need a car to get around, but there is a small shopping center across the street with a Harris Teeter (grocery store) plus Subway & a few other restaurant choices. However, the hotel restaurant is pretty good itself if you don't want to go out after a long day or need a hearty breakfast in the morning. Service in the restaurant is excellent. The 24-hr pantry serviced by the front desk is also convenient for buying snacks. The complimentary warm, fresh cookies very evening at the front desk were a nice treat :) This hotel seems to be a popular choice for business travelers as it is close to Dulles Airport & DC. The bold roast Starbucks coffee (reserved for hotel guests only) every morning was a good indication of that ;) The lobby area is spacious with plenty of couches, tables & a nice fireplace to work by if you need a change of scenery & don't want to be stuck in your room. The closest Metro station is Vienna which is about 10 min drive away. On a non-peak day/time you can easily hop on the Metro & get to all the DC museums in 30-45 mins. Fair Oaks Mall is a large mall & about a 30 min walk away. You do have to cross a major highway to get there, but it's a nice walk. (I did it with a toddler in tow ;)). If you have a car, there's a big Whole Foods close by with a nice food court as well as all the "essential" stores like Target/Wal-Mart & Costco.
Overall this was a very pleasant stay. If we ever find ourselves in the Fairfax/DC area again, this will be our top choice!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ling K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    479
    118
    31
    7
    6
See reviews for
175
110
49
262
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Arnprior, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Starbuck coffee in the morning, cookie at night, indoor pool, wonderful staff. Went to the musem at the airport and to a 3 day conference with Matt Sorger. Excellent restaurants about. Harris Teeter grocery

Room Tip: They all are our 2nd trip
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tannersville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
95 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Wonderful inn. All the amenities at a great pice. Super clean. The staff was so helpful and couteous. We saved 20% by going through an online service. How can you beat $59 a night? King bed, 32" HD TV, pool, etc. We would come back here in a heart beat.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

This Hilton Garden Inn is a gem. The staff is professional and personable. Check in was a breeze. Preferences had been noted and was welcomed warmly.
Location is close to major roadways, but no road noise due to being set back from Route 50. Harris Teeter within walking distance.
Grill in hotel has decent menu choices. Small bar area convenient and casually comfortable.
Breakfast options are the best of HGI hotels I have stayed in.

Room Tip: No suggestions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I stay in hotels often for business and of all the ones I have been to, this hotel impresses me the most. From the friendly welcome like an old friend to the above and beyond effort to ensure my stay is a pleasant one. Other places could learn from here. It is not the "brick and mortar" that make a hotel, but the staff and the way they treat the guests. And this staff treats guests like family!! Can't recommend it enough!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carterdnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

The hotel reception was so friendly, my room was prepared as I arrived with the preferred choices. The staff was extremely joyful and helpful. The room was very clean and the daily room make over was excellent. The breakfast bar was fully of variety to my choice. I stay at this hotel every time I travel to the area whether I am on business or pleasure. It is so convenient and close to everything.

Room Tip: I am pretty sure you will enjoy the hospitality of the people at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ammard63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairhope, Alabama
Level Contributor
225 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

I stay in this area often and have spent a few nights in several hotel between here and Dulles. This place is comfortable, close enough to my customers, and the restaurant-bar is just fine. It is so nice to have a decent meal without having to go back out in the evening. Very friendly staff.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LAHust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fairfax
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Fairfax City
1.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Fairfax
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency FairFax
Hyatt Regency FairFax
#8 of 21 in Fairfax
4.0 of 5 stars 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Residence Inn Fairfax City
1.1 mi away
Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn University Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Fairfax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Fairfax

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Fairfax
Address: 3950 Fair Ridge Dr, Fairfax, VA 22033-2905
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Fairfax
#2 Family Hotel in Fairfax
#2 Best Value Hotel in Fairfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Fairfax 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Fairfax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Fairfax Hotel Fairfax
Fairfax Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Fairfax

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing