We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good value accommodation in Fairfax” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Fairfax

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Fairfax
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Fairfax
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good value accommodation in Fairfax”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Stayed here for 5 nights in November 2012. Overall I enjoyed my stay here and would recommend as a good value proposition. Location is within 20 mins walk to Fair Oaks Mall. To be realistic you really need a car to stay here. I had a friend who worked nearby and transported me around.

Front desk staff were friendly and welcoming without being over the top. My room on the second floor was quiet and very spacious, with a microwave, fridge, free internet and work desk.
The bed was one of those where you can choose the firmness by choosing a setting. It was OK but even on full hard was a bit soft for my liking, however, I still slept well.

There is a fitness room which is quite well equipped.
Front desk called a cab for me on my morning of departure which arrived on time.
There is a small shopping centre 1 minute walk from the hotel anchored by Harris Teeter supermarket which was 24 hours and very convenient

Hotel operates a free shuttle within a 3 mile radius including Vienna station in the morning and afternoon/early evening - I used this service and was a good way to get to Vienna station..

Ample car parking available at the hotel.

Overall I had nothing to complain about and would recommend without hesitation - as mentioned before though you really need a car.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    491
    123
    32
    9
    6
See reviews for
178
111
50
276
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

I was here for two nights recently on a business trip. The hotel has plenty of free parking, had a cozy and lively lobby area with a nice casual restaurant and bar, and was very clean. There really weren't any cons. I would just say that the guest rooms themselves were somewhat dated, but they were comfortable and the rooms were quiet. Another plus is that a lot of shopping centers and restaurants are a short drive away, soil you have a car and are looking for ways to spend time or grab food there are plenty of options!

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank pava1913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I have stayed several times at this property while on business. It is a standard Hilton Garden Inn property, and most rooms appear identical (not a lot of room type choices). The restaurant has a somewhat limited menu, but fairly priced for a hotel. The workout room is above standard, with new equipment, water, towels, TV's, etc. The beds are supposed to be adjustable for firmness/softness, however they never seem to work correctly and I often don't have the best sleep due to this issue. The rooms all have a mini fridge, microwave and coffee pot which are nice to have, especially if staying longer than 1 night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank risalee77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgivafairfax, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Fairfax, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
I am very happy to read the comments about your recent stay and glad that you found the location and amenities of our hotel to your satisfaction. However, I would like to apologize for the issues you mentioned with our beds. Our maintenance staff has been informed of the issue, and they will make any necessary corrections. Hope to see you return soon and thank you for choosing us!

steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plesant Prairie, WI
Level Contributor
125 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

To start out, I do not advise against staying here but this Hilton Garden Inn isn't perfect, either. It's difficult to rate because it's not a bad place by any means but I've stayed at several other Hilton Garden Inns and this one isn't the best. It's a bit larger than some and fairly heavily used. The rooms were basically clean but the first had cigarette smoke odor left behind (in a nonsmoking hotel) and the second room was better but also had somewhat of the same issue. The shower was great with good water pressure. Rooms were basically clean but the pillows had some odor and smoke odor. Carpeting had some wear and minor stains in both rooms. No outlets at the nightstands to charge phone. Guest laundry had only one washer and two dryers for a sizable property--less than other HGI properties and comparable hotels. Staff was nice but they definitely did little or nothing to educate about or enforce no smoking policy. Cookies were quickly gone, btw. All the other good points become less significant when issues are not addressed or facilities are lacking. This place needs more staff/management attention to these issues to get a higher rating. Again, not a bad place but I have to rate it against other HGI properties and it falls a bit short. It would not take much to raise this up but management has to be more proactive. Buy another washing machine or two. Really clean the rooms. Deal with the smoke issue effectively. Clean up and fix up the little things before they become big things. It's so typical for hotel owners to neglect this stuff and it shows. Overall, not a bad place but not as good as other Hilton Garden Inn properties.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 6530bx4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgivafairfax, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Fairfax, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about our hotel. We apologize for the inconvenient smell during your stay and we are sorry we were not able to provide you with the quality of services and amenities you deserve. Because travel is very important, we try hard to make sure all our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. We hope you will consider staying with us in the future.

Wishing you safe and enjoyable travels,

steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I was in the area for work and needed to stay over the weekend. I chose this hotel because I like Hilton properties and the rate for this one was great. I was very pleased with my stay.
The hotel was very clean and the staff at both the front desk and the restaurant were efficient and pleasant.

I will be back in the area in a couple of weeks and definitley plan to stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dbpNorthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at this Hilton Garden Inn for two nights this week for work. For the price, I thought it was great and would definitely stay here again. It was not too far of a drive from downtown DC, and the price was much better than what you would pay to stay inside DC proper. This hotel was clean, rooms were big and spacious and seemed to have a newer feel. The staff is friendly and they had cookies at the front desk (always good). Half a mile down the road you can grab a quick bite from Panera Bread, Firehouse subs or many other great choices. The things I like best about this hotel was the price, hotel brand, rooms and proximity to the city. The staff was also VERY friendly and nice. The thing I like least is probably the food from the American Grill. Overall an excellent hotel that I would recommend and will stay at again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Sheri V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

What can I say... It's my kind of hotel when I see an ipad at the front desk for any and everyone to use. NICE! Room had a microwave, refrigerator, therapeutic bed, and nice new TV. Breakfast was great and dinner is nice and inexpensive.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BSmith0731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fairfax hotels
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Fairfax City
3.6 mi away
Residence Inn Fairfax City
1.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Fairfax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency FairFax
Hyatt Regency FairFax
#8 of 21 in Fairfax
4.0 of 5 stars 539 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks
2.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Fairfax Fair Oaks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Fairfax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Fairfax

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Fairfax
Address: 3950 Fair Ridge Dr, Fairfax, VA 22033-2905
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Fairfax
#1 Best Value Hotel in Fairfax
#2 Family Hotel in Fairfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Fairfax 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Fairfax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Fairfax Hotel Fairfax
Fairfax Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Fairfax

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing