We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel, quality staff, and convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Fairfax
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Fairfax
Certificate of Excellence
Humble, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, quality staff, and convenient location”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Conveniently located near Dulles airport (IAD), HGI Fairfax does a great job of helping their guests feel comfortable. The breakfast service is fast, efficient, and complete with fresh fruit. The staff are quick to refill your drinks and have no problems splitting checks if necessary (for multiple parties at a single table).

The hotel is located in a very accessible location. I prefer to walk outdoors instead of utilizing the gym -- the hotel is next to a suburban community, so there are a good number of residential streets to jog/walk along without fear of heavy traffic.

Restaurant options are plentiful and within driving distance (walking to a restaurant is not an option).

The rooms are well maintained and supplies are refreshed without fail. My only complaint is that the desk in my room was located too close to the air conditioner. A quick move of the desk (light, but sturdy) fixed that problem.

The pantry is well stocked with more choices than I've seen at other Hilton Garden Inns -- and the front desk staff are quick to help out with any specific needs you have.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    543
    140
    35
    9
    6
See reviews for
200
121
58
304
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Owen Sound, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We were two girls on a road trip, driving from Ontario to Savannah with a stopover in Washington and this was our first hotel along the way. Our stay at the Hilton Garden Inn set a very positive start to our journey. The hotel itself is very clean, with fully appointed rooms and comfortable beds, but that's just the beginning. We were truly newbies to the Fairfax and Washington area and we didn't have a clue even how to catch the train to get into DC, but the staff at this hotel literally did everything they could to give us the guidance that we needed. When we arrived back after our whirlwind day in Washington, the front desk staff stopped us to make sure that we'd had a good time. My only complaint was that there was no breakfast included with the room, but there was a breakfast buffet that was small, but quite well done, and reasonably priced. If the buffet didn't include what we wanted to eat, we could ask the chef to cook anything we wanted - all included in the price. Considering how reasonably priced the room was, adding in the cost of breakfast was really no big deal at all.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Itsciencefreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Spent a couple of nights here before getting a flight out of Dulles. Staff very pleasant & efficient. Room & bathroom exceptionally clean, bed very comfortable. In addition to a coffee maker it also had a fridge & microwave, which was handy. Hotel is within walking distance of supermarket, & not too far from Metro link to Washington DC, Dulles Airport & various malls. Fairfax town a couple of miles away, very nice .Overall an excellent experience. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajeauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

The room was very clean and the front desk staff was very friendly and hospitable. The breakfast quality at this location is excellent with lots of fresh fruit, made to order items and a very sweet female morning chef. The two waitress' were very rude to us and had a horrible attitude. My 15 and 8 yrs old children picked up on thier attitude and made comments on thier unprofessionalism. We checked into the hotel due to our move, power outage, and our daughter's illness. Unprofessionalism during these trying times was truly not appreciated when we are paying extra for the breakfast!

The American flag was truly touching in the hallway, thank you for expressing your patriotism. We are active duty Air Force and truly appreciated your support.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rohini H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
94 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Our family of four stayed one night in June. We arrived late and was greeted warmly by the front desk clerk, and had prompt service of extra towels from housekeeping. The room was clean, comfortable, and quiet. Garden Inns don't include breakfast, instead having a restaurant on site. We opted for a quick bite as we went to the museum the next day, and there were plenty of restaurants in the area. The rate at this hotel was very good compared to many that are closer in to DC - we only stayed one night as we wanted to be close to the Metro for going into the city, but if you don't mind driving and parking in town (we did two days due to necessity, and found parking to be about the same as Metro, if not less, for our family of four - although you need to have lots of garages in mind in case they fill up, as they do quickly) it would be a good place to be for a longer stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Family4RdTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gp703
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We recently spent two nights at the Fairfax HGI when a large storm hit the Northern Virginia. Normally you would expect a hotel to be overwhelmed by an unexpected full house. The hotel performed flawlessly even when the temps outside hit 100 degrees. The restaurant provides tasty food which is of better quality then most hotels I have stayed at. Breakfast was busy but service did not suffer. The pool while small, was adequate for our 6-year old to play in. The Fairfax HGI provides great value for the price, and I expect we will come back for a "staycation"

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gp703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plesant Prairie, WI
Level Contributor
132 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

The headline is actually a compliment because most hotels have a hard time meeting that basic standard for a variety of reasons (often not keeping up with maintenance issues).

Hilton Garden Inns are fairly standard in terms of quality and here there was a good bed, a great shower, a good working desk with Herman Miller chair, outlets near the desk that didn't require moving furnture to use, a flat screen TV, microwave and fridge, etc. The other room chair was comfortable. No problems with heat/AC. Not the fanciest place but then fancy doesn't always mean quality (not to imply this is substandard, either -- it isn't but just saying, for example, there's no sofa in the room like many Courtyards but that's really not an issue).

Although the room was clean it could have smelled a bit more fresh. That's not to say that there was an objectionable smell but it just wasn't quite as fresh as maybe you might find in parts of the midwest or upper northwest.

I would have no hesitancy to stay here again. (Although they didn't have the usual HGI cookies at the front desk!)

Note: This hotel is near lots of shopping and next door there's a little strip mall with a Harris-Teeter grocery store open 24/7. It was nice to be able to run there at 11 p.m. just before checking in and stock up on a few essentials.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 6530bx4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fairfax hotels
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Fairfax
Hyatt Regency Fairfax
#7 of 21 in Fairfax
40 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Fairfax City
3.6 mi away
Residence Inn Fairfax City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Fairfax
1.1 mi away
Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks
1.0 mi away
Residence Inn Fair Lakes Fairfax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Fairfax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Fairfax

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Fairfax
Address: 3950 Fair Ridge Drive, Fairfax, VA 22033-2905
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Fairfax
#1 Business Hotel in Fairfax
#2 Family Hotel in Fairfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Fairfax 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Fairfax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Fairfax Hotel Fairfax
Fairfax Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Fairfax

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing