We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect everytime we stay here.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Fairfax
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Fairfax
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, NH
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Perfect everytime we stay here.”
Reviewed March 28, 2011

You can't beat the rooms and value of this hotel. The rooms are very comfortable, large, have a refrigerator, nice desk to work on, flat screen,and newly renovated- so everything is new and clean. The lobby is welcoming as are the staff helpful. The best part is the complentary SB coffee and teas which you can enjoy by the gas fireplace. My only complaint is the gym- which is limited, and there is not much around here in terms of restaurants. I also wish there was an outside place or pool to sit at on nice days ( the cherry blossoms were in bloom). Parking is free and ample. My son lives in Fairfax and I have tried many of the hotels near by and I keep coming back to this one.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    569
    147
    39
    11
    7
See reviews for
214
128
60
319
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2011

Of course, a hotel is far more than a bathroom - it's a bed and TV as well! This Hilton Garden Inn is obviously newer, and is in the condition you'd expect a new HGI to be in: Spectacular.

The beds are the usual Hilton masterpieces, and the flat-screen TV was in good working order. The bathroom, while smaller, was positively perfect in every way. I was a housekeeper in a four-star hotel many years ago, and I'm fairly exacting when it comes to cleanliness (though forgiving in some areas that aren't really up to the cleaning staff but many reviewers attribute to housekeeping).

The lobby is nice and the business center computers are up-to-snuff, which is surprisingly rare considering how cheap replacing an outdated desktop is.

The staff was a great, and upon hearing of our exhausting tale of woe, comped us two beverages (one a wine) from the little store near the lobby. They also gladly extended our stay until 1 PM to make up for our late arrival!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kwhitegocubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2011

From the front desk staff to the housekeepers, you will be hard pressed to find a more accommodating hotel and service staff. The breakfast and restaurant are incredibly good and offer a wide and varied menu to satisfy any pallet. The lounge staff, well you gotta experience it for yourself! The beer is always cold, the drinks are always on point, and the staff is always fun and entertaining. It’s almost like being at home! It’s my home away from home when in the Northern Virginia area.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlRauf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 29, 2011

Very nice firm beds, people who call you by your name because they actually remember you, caring, detail-oriented professional staff.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dawgmalala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 27, 2011

I am a Hilton Diamond member so, you could say, I stay in a lot of Hilton properties. I also stay in this particular HGI once a month. It's the best Hilton property I've stayed in. Yes, it's just a HGI, but Steve's staff know my name, know I drink decaf tea with breakfast, chardonnay with dinner, know I work out, and know where I am from. I don't think I stay enough to warrant that kind of attention. It's just what they do. So if you have to travel to the DC area or need a special break, come visit Steve and his staff at HGI, Fairfax.

I lowered this HGI on value only because the D.C. area is generally so expensive. It's not because of the specific hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank looneyjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warnerville NY
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2010

One of the advantages of being a hotel "rewards" member is -- the rewards. I do a lot of traveling, which resulted in some reward points that my husband and I used toward an anniversary trip to the Washington DC area. We chose the Hilton Garden Inn based both on its own good reviews and this chain brand's near-perfect record for consistency.

First to last, this place was a delight. As I have come to expect with HGI properties, the room was immaculate, up to date, and extremely comfortable. I don't think anyone on the staff forgot our names or that it was our anniversary the entire five days we were there. They were delightfully helpful in scheming to sneak a bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries up to our room while we were out, surprising my husband. (The presentation of same was very special, too: sugar-rimmed glasses, extra fruit decorated and served with panache.) The location was very good, with a small shopping center next door with a Harris Teeter, and the local metro stop was easy to get to (though their shuttle bus did not run nearly as often as it might have; it may be problematical if you don't have a car).

Definitely a place to recommend; every positive report about them here on Trip Advisor can be trusted!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveling_Psychic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, PA
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2010

My family and I recently travled to Fairfax, VA for a wedding. This hotel was wonderful, everything was clean, nothing looked worn, and the staff was very friendly. We had flat screen TV's in our rooms, all of us had mini fridges, my aunt requested a room with a king or queen bed I can't remember but it was a sleep number bed. My mother and I had a room with double beds and they were very plush and comfortable. The hotel had an ok size pool and hot tub. I didn't eat or drink the there so I can't comment on that, although my aunt and uncle had breakfast there and they said it was excellent.. they came in too late for the breakfast but the cook made omlets for them anyways. Michael the desk clerk was lovely and very hospitable. I would love to stay here again, the Fairfax mall is just minutes down the road there are things to do everywhere! I would reccomend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marshmallows11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fairfax hotels
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Fairfax
Hyatt Regency Fairfax
#8 of 21 in Fairfax
116 reviews
3.6 mi away
Residence Inn Fairfax City
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Fairfax City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks
2.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Fairfax Fair Oaks
3.6 mi away
Best Western Fairfax
Best Western Fairfax
#9 of 21 in Fairfax
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Fairfax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Fairfax

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Fairfax
Address: 3950 Fair Ridge Drive, Fairfax, VA 22033-2905
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Fairfax
#1 Business Hotel in Fairfax
#2 Family Hotel in Fairfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Fairfax 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Fairfax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Fairfax Hotel Fairfax
Fairfax Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Fairfax

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing