We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Hard to find parking” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Thai by Thai

Thai by Thai
Ranked #62 of 392 Restaurants in Fairfax
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
232 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Hard to find parking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This was a sort of fast food Thai place you order at the counter then they bring it to you. I guess that is how they keep the prices a little bit lower than some of the other Thai places in the area. I only had the Thai fried rice which was really good and the chicken sate which I did not like one bit. The chicken tasted wierd the sate sauce was very spicy. I would probably not go back considering there are many other Thai places in the area that I like better. The food here was okay but, the place was very small and crowed maybe 8 or 9 tables and the parking was horrible. I had to park in the lot down the street and walk.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MrMouser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    12
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great value Thai food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

This is a small cafe type restaurant with a seating capacity ~25. Smallish and cozy. When you get there, you can review the menu on the side wall before ordering at the cashier. While the menu is not huge, it has all the Thai essentials - pad thai and noodles, tom yum soup, curries, sticky rice etc. After ordering, you will be given a number and the kitchen starts on your order. All dishes are very Thai authentic and in good portion sizes. Our family of 4 (2 boys aged 11 and 14) normally order the sun dried beef and satay or wings, a tom yum or tom kha soup for appetizers. Our entrée typically includes a noodle - pad thai or noodle soup, a crab fried rice and another "new" item on the menu. For drinks, we sometimes go for the Thai ice tea but it's always too sweet. To finish, we have the mango with sticky rice (need to be in mango season). My boys would just have the coconut stick rice on its own without the mango. As always, everyones' really contented after the meal here.

Strongly recommended if you want to try some authentic Thai food - no frills and affordable.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BobQuek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax Station, Virginia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice neighborhood Thai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This is a nice neighborhood Thai restaurant, they cook your food to order, and you can order degree of heat. Beware ordering Thai hot, they do it right!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank VirginiaIntrepid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fre Been here many times and am always please”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

Very good. Love the pad ginger. Always fresh. Difficult parking sometimes.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank INLOGIX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Never visited, but the pad thai is SO tasty!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

I am not a big Thai food lover; the first time I tried pad thai was from this place. A co-worker convinced me to order with him, so I tried regular pad thai with chicken, and he went to pick it up.

I was pleasantly surprised with how light and tasty it was. It was not as heavy or alien to me as I thought it would be. They use thinner, lighter noodles and plenty of good quality chicken. I usually have leftovers. It was a good way to foray into the Thai food experience for me!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai by Thai also viewed

 

Been to Thai by Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing