We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maintenance needs work”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Fairfax City
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Fairfax
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 20, 2014

I had a one-night stay early this week. The room is comfortable, nicely laid out, and has a comfortable bed and work space (including comfortable seating to meet with a person or three). The breakfast is very good.

However, the desk drawer was full of trash (used tissues, gum wrappers, old lipsticks); there were used toothpicks underneath the phone on one nightstand; the lamp on the other nightstand didn't work; the bottom drawer of the dresser wouldn't stay closed, and the lampshade on the desk lamp was very wobbly because the nut on top was stripped. So, what could have been an "excellent" room becomes merely "average."

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PHLRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI Fairfax City M, Manager at Residence Inn Fairfax City, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2014

Dear PHLRick,

We really appreciate you letting us know about your experience at our hotel. Comments like yours help us improve our service and focus our attention on the details that make our rooms excellent. Let us know next time you’re in the area and we’ll be sure to go the extra mile for you. Thanks so much for taking the time to give us your feedback!

Best Regards,

Residence Inn Fairfax City Manager
ri.iadrf.agm@marriott.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (270)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 270 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2014

This Residence Inn in Fairfax is definitely one of my favorite. I previously stayed at a RI in Long Island and was not all that impressive. Traveled to DC from NYC, made a stop at Washington. Then Continued right down to Fairfax to then head back to the capital the following morning. About a 15-20 min ride from Fairfax to Washington. At this location the room was very spacious, CLEAN and comfy. Up to date with all of its appliances. Loved the dual shower head. Traveled with two youngsters, they seemed to enjoyed it even more than I did. Complimentary Breakfast was excellent, great selection of food, dining area was very comfortable. Although, I did stay for only one night, it was very pleasant, wish I could have extended my stay. Front desk and staff was very welcoming and helpful. Overall excellent experience, area felt safe and would definitely consider coming back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CityGal24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

This Residence Inn is one of the nicest and cleanest I have ever stayed in. I was working at all 5 of the Inova hospitals and this hotel is fairly convenient to all of them. There are a lot of places to eat very close to the hotel and the staff is always friendly and helpful! This is where I will stay for any future trips I have to DC!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI Fairfax City M, Manager at Residence Inn Fairfax City, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Dear Bobby L,

Thank you so much for being our first review in April!! I will be sure to share your kind comments about our friendliness with the staff. I'm glad you found our location convenient for your work. Please don't hesitate to let us know if there is anything else we can help you with in the future.

Thank you again for choosing our hotel and taking the time to let us know about your experience!!

Best Regards,

Residence Inn Fairfax City

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We were suppose to stay here for 2 nights but end up checking out early...due to other circumstances. This is the BEST place to stay if you are in fairfax. We have stayed in SpringHill suites in December and it had some flaws. You will not be disappointed. The rooms are new and clean. The bathroom is roomy, clean with big frameless shower. It was quiet though I was skeptic since it is in the middle of Fairfax city. We had a king bed with pull out sofa and the sofa was NOT like the old ones you pull out and you end up having a bad back in the morning. It had a full kitchen in the room with an area for 2 people to sit and eat. The pictures are very accurate online and it was so clean, I was amazed!
I would rate this place to be higher than some places I have been in the US. The front desk was friendly and when we asked for a late check-out (1:00) we were given. I can't say much for the breakfast since my husband and the boys had to leave early for a swim meet. They stayed here and I checked in for them but ended going home to attend to another child. We live 31 miles away and we needed to be close to the GMU aquatic center. The only downside is that though GMU is less than 3 miles away, there is traffic during rush hour which makes it going there at least 15 minutes. Other than that, you can't go wrong. Will stay here if we need to again.

Room Tip: High floor room was good and quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank trixgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Great hotel! Almost like home but with maid service. Comfortable room with kitchen. Breakfast and evening snack. Personable staff. I have stayed at most hotels in the area. This place is at the top of my list. I will be back!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
2  Thank Caren_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We had a great stay this past weekend at this hotel. Room was nice with a kitchen area. Breakfast was good. Will stay again when back in the area. Beware if you attend a concert at the Patriot Center that the taxis are far and few!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tonya H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

This Residence Inn is nothing less than FANTASTIC! I am staying for the second stay this month! The hotel is 3 years old, spotless, modern, excellent beds (they have just replaced the box springs and mattresses in the rooms), and the rooms are spacious. Each of the rooms have a kitchen area with granite countertops and fully equipped with tableware and cooking utensils, diswasher, microwave, refrigerater with

Stayed: March 2014
Thank H S G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fairfax hotels
3.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Fairfax
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Fairfax City
1.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Fairfax Fair Oaks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Fairfax
Hyatt Regency Fairfax
#6 of 21 in Fairfax
148 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Fairfax
Best Western Fairfax
#8 of 21 in Fairfax
447 reviews
2.5 mi away
Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Fairfax City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Fairfax City

Address: 3565 Chain Bridge Rd, Fairfax, VA 22030-2706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Fairfax
Price Range: $110 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Fairfax City 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn Fairfax City is located near many of the area’s top attractions including Wolf Trap, George Mason University, Washington, D.C., and the Patriot Center. Fully renovated, our spacious suites feature separate living and sleeping areas, fully-equipped kitchens with stainles steel appliances and HDTVs. Start your day off right with our complimentary breakfast buffet, or end the night at our evening social. Complimentary Internet access and on-site parking is available for all guests. Relax and unwind at our outdoor pool, or work out in our hotel fitness center. Enjoy all the comforts and conveniences of home with hallmark Marriott service at the Residence Inn Fairfax City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Fairfax City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing