We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch hotel...deserves a full 5 stars.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Fairfax City
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Fairfax
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
277 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Top notch hotel...deserves a full 5 stars.”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I'm hard to please and I take many of the things that hotels do well for granted...that's what they're there for.

I tend to concentrate on the not so goods but with this hotel it's hard to find anything that's really worthy of criticism.

The rooms are excellent with good cooking facilities if you're staying a while. They are super clean and there's a good desk to work at and the internet is free and reliable.

Breakfast is included and is a good spread.

The staff are friendly and efficient.

So let's look at the "not so goods"...It's a shame the hotel doesn't have a proper bar and a regular restaurant. As a long stay focused place maybe these are not high on the list and there are plenty of places to eat and drink within walking distance.

Fuddruckers, Hooters, Red Lobster can all be walked to and there's a bar nearby as well so you'll not starve or die of thirst.

The hotel keeps a stock of beer and snacks which just about covers simple eventualites that you'd use a mini bar for normally.

This is a hotel that you can wholeheartedly recommend and know you won't be let down. There can't be much higher praise than that.

Room Tip: Corridors are quite long. Get a room near the elevator if you don't want the walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    55
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
112
42
15
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rhode Island
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Pleasantly surprised by this top notch hotel. Beautiful decor, lage and comfy dining area/social spaces, great room. Fully equipped kitchen, beautiful large bathroom. Rooms are suites, with bedroom area, living area, and kitchen area. Would be great for families, or extended stays. Everything was top shelf, including the service. Doors closed quietly and room was well-soundproofed. Standard but good free hotel breakfast. On the bus line to the Metro station--total about 30 minutes by public transportation to get into DC. Close walk to restaurants, and pleasant neighborhood to walk around in.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hayjude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed here three nights and would have loved to give it five stars. They have a very nice full breakfast (scrambled eggs, sausage and potatoes) that comes with the room. The place is new and super clean. The staff was accommodating and helpful. The room was equipped with a lovely full kitchen. But, I have two gripes, one large, the other small. The bed is positioned in a corner with the outflow from the A/C unit at the end of the bed. Either you turn the system off, which in hot weather is intolerable, or you suffer a continuous blast of cold air directly on to the bed. Very, very annoying. The small point is that the bathroom lacks towel bars. How am I supposed to use a towel a second time if I cannot hang it up to dry?

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happycamper690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I LOVED STAYING HERE. The room was so clean, kitchen was perfect. Living room area was great. I travel with my family so, I could use a large fridge since we always buy food and eat in the room.
The breakfast area was perfect, so many tables, some boots with mounted tv's so those kids you have will sit still. I loved the furnitures, unlike other residence inn, this one is probably the best that i've been to. Breakfast area is large, breakfast was typical, with oatmeal, toast, waffles, sausages, eggs.
Free parking and most of all restaurants are close by within 3 miles radius or less.

I WILLS TAY HERE AGAIN.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SillygirlP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

The hotel is very nice, the suites are large and well furnished (there was a fully equipped kitchen with stove tops and microwave oven). We had a one bedroom apartment with a queen sofa bed (it allowed are 10-12 kids to sleep) and a separate room with a king bed. There was a small table for two. The bathroom was excellent with a glass shower. Free internet was included.

Very clean and staff was very friendly and helpful. They also offered to buy groceries (I didn't try the service though).

Breakfast was included (eggs, bacon, cereals, bread, fruit salads, yogurt and self-made waffles). It also included a plain set dinner (5:30-7:30) for 4 days of the week, including some fresh green and tomato salads.. You won't gain weight with it and you won't come on purpose, but occasionally it is nice to avoid getting out.

The place is also close to the the CUE Bus stops that bring you to Vienna Metro station or GMU and the M15 that goes to Vienna Tyson corner. So we could go to Washington DC or GMU and leave the car behind. A small shopping center is just around the corner and place selling buffalo and Elk hamburger on the back of the hotel. A wonderful place for indian buffet is also at walking distance (see my review for Minerva).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UnEspertoViaggiatore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

From the friendly welcome to the big, fluffy white towels, this place has it all. The decor is sleek and modern (reminded me of Aloft), and there's storage space for everything, even in the smaller studio. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. The free breakfast was typical of a Residence Inn (hot and cold choices), and the breakfast staff members were courteous and helpful. I didn't partake in the free social hour (high-calorie nachos), but the spread looked delicious and people seemed to be really enjoying the food. We asked for a room on an upper floor (we try to avoid dog walkers) and were given a quiet room on the fifth floor. Whether visiting the DC metro area on business or vacation, this hotel would be a good choice. For allergic me, allowing pets is the only down side; however, for others that's a plus.

Room Tip: If you have pet allergies: We've been told that non-dog-lovers should ask for higher floors at R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelinMs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley Springs, West Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Although this is the smallest room I've ever had at a Residence Inn it served the purposed quite nicely for my weeklong Paul Rolland Violin Workshop at George Mason University. The room appeared new and clean without any of that dreaded cleaning products smell. The kitchen was sparsely by well appointed with utensils in good repair. The light levels were a bit low due to the new CF lights required by law.

The bed quickly let me drift off to sleep and the curtains blocked all the night time light pollution. The latter particularly important since my room looked out over a car dealership. The front desk staff was without exception, pleasant & helpful at every interaction. Even on the second floor the room was blissfully quiet.

The only complaint lies with the room layout. Who thinks it is a good idea to put the AC outlet at the end of the bed? Who wants to sleep with that blowing on you all night. Thankfully, the curtains could be pulled across the outlet and held in place with a chair to deflect the breeze. The AC unit was quiet however.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the car dealership side if you like to have the curtains open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Herbal-Gypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fairfax hotels
3.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Fairfax
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Fairfax City
4.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Fairfax
Hyatt Regency Fairfax
#8 of 21 in Fairfax
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Candlewood Suites Fairfax
1.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Fairfax Fair Oaks
0.1 mi away
Best Western Fairfax
Best Western Fairfax
#9 of 21 in Fairfax
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Fairfax City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Fairfax City

Property: Residence Inn Fairfax City
Address: 3565 Chain Bridge Rd, Fairfax, VA 22030-2706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Fairfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Fairfax City 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn Fairfax City is located near many of the area’s top attractions including Wolf Trap, George Mason University, Washington, D.C., and the Patriot Center. Fully renovated, our spacious suites feature separate living and sleeping areas, fully-equipped kitchens with stainles steel appliances and HDTVs. Start your day off right with our complimentary breakfast buffet, or end the night at our evening social. Complimentary Internet access and on-site parking is available for all guests. Relax and unwind at our outdoor pool, or work out in our hotel fitness center. Enjoy all the comforts and conveniences of home with hallmark Marriott service at the Residence Inn Fairfax City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Fairfax City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing