We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Fantastic new format for Residence Inn!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Fairfax City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Fairfax City to your Saves list
Residence Inn Fairfax City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3565 Chain Bridge Road, Fairfax, VA 22030   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Member Rates
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Fairfax
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fantastic new format for Residence Inn!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

I usually stay at the Residence Inn in Sterling when I'm in Northern Virginia for a week or two for work. I thought that and the Springfield properties were the most updated in the area. Well, Fairfax City is newer and it's the best of the Residence Inn properties in the region.

The lobby is bright and modern. The dining area has little cubbies with banquettes, tables, and TVs so a family can sit together during breakfast (or a weary business traveler can hide away and have some peace and quiet!). The rooms are modern and feel spacious, even though they are probably about 440 square feet. The closet is smaller than the closet in other Residence Inns, but it's large enough to hang everything you'd have with you for a week. The room lost in the closet is gained in the bathroom, which is much brighter and larger than the bathrooms at other Residence Inns. See my pictures...you'll be pleasantly surprised!

Parking is pretty easy right now, but I wonder how they'll do at full capacity. The location is great for anyone who has appointments around Fairfax County.

The only draw back is that the elevators are a little slow, but that's such a small detail that I wouldn't let it stop anyone from staying there.

Room Tip: You want a room on the parking lot side. There's a tad bit of noise on the Chain Bridge side of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JeanninePC99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    41
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
83
37
13
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville,TN
Level Contributor
125 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

The Residence Inn is a nice place to stay. They offer a great complimentary breakfast and evening meal. This is good because the restaurant choices in the area near the Inn are few. THe rooms are a little pricey as all are in the DC area. The QUE Bus Stop is just a short walk away.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 66Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Booked directly with the hotel for $89 a night for a weekend stay while touring the monuments in DC. This is the best stay we've had during our month-long trip!

The room was big, with a full-size fridge, a two-burner stove, microwave and dishwasher. The bathroom has a shower stall only, but it is huge. The best thing is that there are plenty of towels in the bathroom.

The couch is very comfortable and there is a flatscreen tv that swivels to face the bed. There are small reading lights attached to each side of the bed.

I didn't use the exercise room but it was huge and had a lot of machines to choose from. It's open 24 hrs. I used the laundry room. It's $2.00 per load. The facility was spotless and the washer and dryer worked perfectly.

The employees were all very friendly. Breakfast was wonderful, with plenty of choices and lots of tables, some with a flatscreen tv in front of them.

I'd definitely stay here again and will recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

I stayed here in mid-June 2011 and love the LEED elements incorporated into the design of this hotel. The best available rate of $89 a night was outstanding! The studio apartment design and decor is incredibly inviting. The breakfast buffet was outstanding and I really enjoyed the private tables with built-in TVs so you could watch the show of your choice while eating. The hotel is in an excellent location convenient to pretty much any where in Northern, Virginia. Be sure and check out the really great restaurants in Fairfax and travel up Chain Bridge Road into the historic part of Fairfax, it is really beautiful.

Room Tip: The design for this hotel isolates the elevator banks from the rooms so elevator noise is not the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RocketCityStarbuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joe
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

Stayed here three nights starting the 17th of Sept ( tonight included ) to visit the D.C. area. The rooms are around 100$ a night with tax and were spotless. Huge bathroom, large living area. Full kitchen with stove and large fridge, plates, glasses and utensils in the drawers and cupboards.

Access to I80 is easy, but after you exit I80 West, take your first immediate left or you will have to hunt for a U-turn legal intersection.

There are pet friendly rooms if needed. ( why anyone does this I have NO idea )

The staff are excellent and were helpful with area questions about DC and such. Large dining area for eating, coffee was good. Parking areas are well lit and the doors lock at night. See photos for bed and rooms. ( studio room for us ) The furniture was better than mine!

You can't go wrong here. This place is only a few months old. I completed my review before we left as I can't see any reason to wait until after we leave.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TX-1096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Ridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

I stayed here for the weekend while visiting family. The AAA rate of $80 is incredible for a hotel of this caliber. The hotel opened in May 2011. It is clean, modern and very comfortable. It is easily accessible to Route 66. It can also be accessed by 495 and local roads in the event of heavy traffic. I've already book additional reservations at this hotel.

The staff go out of their way to accommodate you and make your stay comfortable. My initial room had a noisy air conditioner. A mechanic came within 5 minutes. I was offered a new room and assistance in moving my luggage. The new key was delivered to me in the room.

The breakfast buffet included a wide variety of items, including made to order waffles, fruit, yogurt, cereal, breakfast meats, eggs, etc. Coffee is available all day.

The lobby is comfortable and has plenty of seating for eating breakfast or relaxing. There are multiple entrances to the hotel, so there was never a far walk from the parking lot to the building.

The kitchen has stainless steel appliances and a two burner electric stove. The bathroom has a huge shower stall (no tub). The vanity with mirror and electrical outlets outside the bathroom is a nice touch.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mondetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

Stayed 2 nights and loved this hotel. A brand new hotel. The breakfast buffet was great. Something for everyone. Plenty of seating. They even have a few cozy areas to sit that have a flat panel tv on the wall so you and your family can enjoy watching your own tv shows.

Staff was friendly.

The pool is on the small side. Did not swim in it, but stopped to check it out. Water was cold. Fitness room was great. A big variety of machines to use.

Internet service was really good. Especially since it was free.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gen1776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fairfax
3.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Fairfax
1.9 mi away
Candlewood Suites Fairfax
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Fairfax City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency FairFax
Hyatt Regency FairFax
#6 of 21 in Fairfax
4.0 of 5 stars 509 reviews
1.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Fairfax Fair Oaks
2.5 mi away
Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Fairfax City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Fairfax City

Property: Residence Inn Fairfax City
Address: 3565 Chain Bridge Road, Fairfax, VA 22030
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Fairfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Fairfax City 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn Fairfax City is located near many of the area’s top attractions including Wolf Trap, George Mason University, Washington, D.C., and the Patriot Center. Fully renovated, our spacious suites feature separate living and sleeping areas, fully-equipped kitchens with stainles steel appliances and HDTVs. Start your day off right with our complimentary breakfast buffet, or end the night at our evening social. Complimentary Internet access and on-site parking is available for all guests. Relax and unwind at our outdoor pool, or work out in our hotel fitness center. Enjoy all the comforts and conveniences of home with hallmark Marriott service at the Residence Inn Fairfax City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Residence Inn Fairfax City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing