We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only one thing disappoints me.....”
Review of Curry Mantra

Curry Mantra
Ranked #86 of 421 Restaurants in Fairfax
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Chain bridge, Rt 50
Transit: Vienna Metro
Description: Experience our MANTRA (MAGIC) of making CURRIES. Enjoy Curries with Classic & Traditional decor. The Best of Fairfax.
Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Only one thing disappoints me.....”
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

I love this restaurant. I really do. I've eaten here 4 times over the past 8 weeks, and every dish has been fantastic. I give kudos to the owner for the quick and deserved success of the business. The food is wonderful. The service is always far above average. The decor and atmosphere of the dining room makes one feel a bit closer to India--unless you are sitting in the front of the restaurant and have to have the beautiful interior design work ruined by the 20 plus awards on the wall. The restaurant is a success. The food is great. Anyone eating there already knows this. Not only is there no need to let the dining patrons know this, but it reduces the beauty of the dining room to a cheap, tacky trophy wall of newspaper clippings. Post them online, put them in the windows so that passersby can take note, or hang them in your home, but get those unnecessary atmosphere killers off the wall. When the 4th location is in the works after only 2-1/2 years after the first location opened it's doors, you know that it's a success. No need to wallpaper the restaurant with the clippings.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VirginiaHotelguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    35
    10
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Satisfying but costly”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Beautiful restaurant, but pricey. Also may want to keep in mind that it is on the small side, and may become loud or uncomfortable for large groups and/or groups with kids.
Authentic and spicy, quite an experience. Lots of options on the menu.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kjb4christ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern VA
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food, but...”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We have eaten at Curry Mantra several times and the food is always terrific. The service and atmosphere can be lacking. For example, it is always crowded, but they cram everyone into the main dining room and do not open the second...at least when we visit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent live music and food”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

They now have Indian live music on Fridays and Saturdays, awesome for setting the ambiance. The food is amazing - must try samosas and chicken tikka masala. The decor is beautiful in the new expanded part of the restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gubuem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
372 reviews
279 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Surprise in Fairfax”
Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

We happened to find this gem looking for something else, since we were hungry we decided to give it a try. There are a lot of Indian buffets in the area and they are usually good but this was exceptional. Everything was fresh and well seasoned. The goat was amazing as was the chicken masala. The staff were attentive and very friendly and the service was excellent. The iced tea was made with cardamom which was really good. We want to return for dinner and will soon.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Curry Mantra also viewed

 

Been to Curry Mantra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing