We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Unique Indian dishes in a strip mall” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Curry Mantra

Curry Mantra
Reserve with OpenTable
Curry Mantra is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #69 of 395 Restaurants in Fairfax
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Chain bridge, Rt 50
Transit: Vienna Metro
Description: Experience our MANTRA (MAGIC) of making CURRIES. Enjoy Curries with Classic & Traditional decor. The Best of Fairfax.
Vienna, VA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Unique Indian dishes in a strip mall”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

My new favorite local Indian restaurant. Menu offerings that are not the typical but all were delicious. The tilapia on the banana leaf was particularly good. Also the lamb with pistachio sauce. Enjoyed the live sitar/drum duo during dinner -- soothing but not intrusive. Will definitely re-visit this location although their new location in Falls Church is also supposed to be excellent - and with a different menu!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nice2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    34
    10
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

One look at the strip that Curry Mantra inhabits, and you begin to make assumptions. Saying that it has humble exterior aesthetics is putting it lightly. I ventured inside with my girlfriend on a Friday evening, and was pleasantly surprised by the warm and inviting atmosphere the restaurant had. The live music was phenomenal as well; I was incredibly impressed. Now, time to get down to the meat of the review: the food and service.

The service was perfect. Our water was always refilled by a funny server who always gave us smiles with his witty remarks. All of the other staff was respectful and pleasant as well, including the host, who had a personality of her own. I have no complaints about the service.

The food was largely impressive, with some bumps. The bhelpuri appetizer was pretty good; light and refreshing. The naan was good with nothing extraordinary to report. My saag paneer was excellent... but I wish there was more paneer pieces. There were only about 4 in the entire bowl that I was given, which left me wanting a little more. The malai kofta had a good sauce, but the cheese balls had a strange texture to go with it. It was interesting, but wasn't amazing by any means.

Overall, our experience was wonderful, and we cannot wait to go back again in the future.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Drew V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern VA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrific”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Love this restaurant. It's the highlight of the trip when we have visitors in town. Great lunch buffet too!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Umsale928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Authentic Indian Cuisine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Heard good reviews from foodies but never visited. Went to a birthday party dinner last Saturday with a party of 16. Very authentic looking and dress by staff. Service was good but not excellent, but they were busy at the time we were there. Prices were fair but was surprised they offered bread for the table and we later found it on the bill. Each ordered something different at my table and we shared. It was all good, but I did pass on the goat. Not being a fan of Indian food I don't know how it stacks up. but it is a nice diversion.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stanley Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax Station, Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The best Indian food ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

We have all but stopped looking for another Indian restaurant to try because our entire family likes this one so much. The food is consistently good and they make you feel very welcome. The service can be a little off at times, but all in all it's a great place to eat and you won't be disappointed.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Curry Mantra also viewed

 
Great Falls, Fairfax County
 

Been to Curry Mantra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing