We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty and cheap!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hard Times Cafe

Hard Times Cafe
4069 Chain Bridge Rd, Fairfax, VA 22030
703-267-9590
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #70 of 390 Restaurants in Fairfax
Price range: $5 - $12
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Chili. Wings. Burgers. Sports
Oakton, Virginia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Tasty and cheap!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I have eaten here many times and it is always very good. The service is great and the chili is consistently good. They typically have some good draft beers and you can watch sports on TV. Prices are very reasonable for what you get.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Freebeer12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    12
    11
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, VA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Chili on the planet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

That says it all. I mean the Texac Chili in particular. Try it, and you will know. Also fine place to watch sports. Upstairs bar, downstairs tables only.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank tigercrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great cheap family meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The food is basic but greatj tasting and generous portion sizes. The staff is wonderfully attentive. Their draft beer selection could stand an upgrade as they carry mostly traditional ones on tap.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Runnergirl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

What a neat place! The upstairs portion withe the bar was really cool. The downstairs which was more of a family setting was fun.

The food was wonderful! Make sure to ask for the chili sampler - a well portioned flite of each of the four flavors that they make. Surprisingly, my favorite was the vegetarian chili, but they were all great. Tater tots covered with your favorite chili flavor and cheddar cheese was awesome! It made me feel like a kid again. The cheddar-chili burger was great, and the homemade onion rings were perfect. My son had the BBQ burger with onions rings on it, and it was wonderful, too. We thoroughly enjoyed everything that we had. I'd go over and over if I could.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington dc
Level Contributor
143 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Bar food and chili”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

This location is not as nice as the others in the area.. the wait staff is slow. The wings were ok i like the chili over pasta mix it 3 ways .. a combo of different styles of chili is very good. Try it sometime.

    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank drjonesphd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hard Times Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Hard Times Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing