We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A Classy Restaurant on Campus” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boxwoods at The Mason Inn - CLOSED

Boxwoods at The Mason Inn
Price range: $12 - $50
Cuisines: American, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 123 and Braddock (on GMU Campus)
Transit: Take the Orange Line to the Vienna Stop. Transfer to the "Mason to Metro Shuttle" which will drop you right at our doorstep.
Description: Boxwoods is a full-service restaurant in Fairfax serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. The Chef’s innovative menu includes regional and American favorites prepared with the freshest ingredients. In addition to an a la carte menu there is also a buffet selection available. Our Chef partners with area farms and vineyards to provide healthy and delicious choices.Sunday Brunch is BACK at Boxwoods! Enjoy a feast for the whole family from 11am - 2pm each Sunday. You will enjoy the Waffle Station, Omelet Station, Assorted Pies and Mousses, and, of course, your favorite beverage. Let the good times roll at Boxwoods Sunday Brunch. Adults are only $21.00, Children 6-12 are $15 and Children 5 and Under are FREE. Come on……eat us out of “house and home”. Make the CHEF and General Manager run to buy more food! It’s only a PARTY if you attend and it happens at Boxwoods each week.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Classy Restaurant on Campus”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

(Pun Intened). A great place to have a class act dinner before a performance at the Center for the Arts or at the Patriot Center where larger venue concerts and sporting events are held. The food is pricy, but well prepared and presented. Culinary Art and Hotel Mgmt students are involved with many aspects of your experience. A good selection of wine. The bar is good, but lacks experience.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank RoyWagner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    8
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Relaxing and Accomodating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

The food, service, and relaxing atmosphere are great. I am gluten intolerant and they were very accommodating. I hope when I go back they will have a whole gluten free menu to offer, but they were able to accommodate me with gluten free flatbread and rolls.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tshark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta, ga
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Boring Buffet Breakfast”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Very reasonably priced - $1.00 per person, but after 4-5 days, it was boring. We'd rather pay more and have cooked to order breakfast food.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank norcrossmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Hill, VA, USA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“pleasant, good food, perhaps not best value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

I tried Boxwoods at The Mason Inn because it's close to the Center for the Performing Arts. It made a nice dinner before a concert.

The setting is pleasant, the decor like what I saw of the Inn, which is well executed but not distinguished. Service was attentive and pleasant, perhaps not very expert.

I ordered their crab cakes. Very nice: plenty of crab, well seasoned.

Dinner with a glass of wine and no dessert came to $50.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PhredVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
269 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Great Service - good fresh food - breakfast is a winner here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

Good value here. They have a la carte available, but for $12.xx, the breakfast buffet had all that one could need - fresh and preserved fruit, cereals including oatmeal, yogurt, a good variety of warm foods, pastries, and breads - plus if you are like me and you want fried or poached eggs vs. what is on their buffet, they offer the custom option... coffee quality is good, fresh juices and such are available, too.

The staff were very attentive and friendly, and were able to handle the conference groups and those of us on leisure stay very well. We really enjoyed our four mornings here - great value all around - good quality and consistency!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank West_Tx_54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boxwoods at The Mason Inn also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing