We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food with excellent service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bollywood Bistro

Bollywood Bistro
Ranked #17 of 384 Restaurants in Fairfax
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food with excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stopped by for an early Saturday dinner, and the outside tables were full even though it was nearly 90 degrees. Got a table inside with no waiting. We shared the garlic shrimp starter, which was 4 very large shrimp grilled with soy sauce, garlic and honey. Very tasty!

For the main course, we got the Chicken Tikka Masala and the Salmon Mango dishes to share. They came with rice but we ordered the garlic naan to slurp up the delicious buttery sauce. Service was attentive as our water glasses were kept full. The manager or owner stopped by several times to see how we were enjoying the food, along with offering more rice.

Will definitely return to try some of the other items on the menu.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank G M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    38
    6
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Decent food, good ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I go to this place often, after I am tired of going to new restaurants and finding them not good. This place has decent food, better ambience and not far from where I live. You should try once if you are looking for good Indian food. I even used groupon and livingsocial deals.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Strikers K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

The drinks are excellent here, must try the mango lassi. The food and service are also excellent. The restaurant is small so recommend making a reservation.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank gubuem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
82 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Everything was excellent. The service, food, decor, value. What a suberb experience!

We went for an early dinner on a Tuesday, mind you, but the staff was SO attentive and everything we ordered was delicious. We loved it, and the friends who took me there consider it one of their faves. So when I'm back in the area for travel, I plan on definitely returning!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Doreen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Level Contributor
279 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Average at best. Food is decent.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Came here on a Saturday night for dinner with a large group. Service was typical of most Indian restaurants. The owner/manager(?) was very welcoming and did his best to make patrons feel comfortable and at home. He was helping others with food selections and explaining the menu. Seemed to try to hard to get people to buy alcohol.

The food did not stand out. Seemed fresh. Servings were typical of most other restaurants. Decent vegetarian selections. If you don't see something on the menu they can probably make it anyway.

The cafe/bistro set up is different but works for this small space. Some outdoor seating available. The photos of Bollywood stars is neat. On a side not they should have put up a vintage photo of Amitabh Bachchan rather than a more current one. Would have fit the theme better. Also, we were the only Indian people in the restaurant at the time. Not sure if that is good or bad.

A few tips. Eat here with a Groupon. Also, make a reservation.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank delaware-veg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bollywood Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Bollywood Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing