We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Hidden gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mazadar Kabob

Mazadar Kabob
Ranked #19 of 392 Restaurants in Fairfax
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Middle Eastern, Persian, Halal, Afghani
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Mazadar Kebob is a beautiful little restaurant, somewhat tucked away in a not-so-visible row of stores and restaurants. They put a lot of effort into the decor, and it really has a unique and exotic ambiance. We started going to Mazadar when it had just opened and only had a few items on the menu. The menu has grown since, and to be honest, everything we have had has been delicious. The chicken kebob is very well seasoned, the kubideh is tender and flavorful, the dips (hummus, cucumber yogurt dip, eggplant) are fresh and tasty, and the bread is perhaps the best I've had at any Kebob restaurant: freshly baked, hot out of the oven, soft... amazing! I can definitely recommend this place. Service is quick and attentive enough; I really have no complaints.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ReiseLust_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    31
    10
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not that great ! save your $$”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I went to this restaurant for a Friday night dinner, based on the raving reviews. We ordered 2 entrees, a chicken and a beef entree. The meat (chicken and beef) both tasted good, but not exceptional. I was surprised that there was barely any veggies or dips as we usually get in any middle eastern restaurant. To me it felt like meat and rice. The portions are smaller for a dinner entree and was definitely not satisfied with the portion.
The falafels were a joke. (6 tiny pieces for $7). I was telling my wife that the restaurant owners were really on a budget (based on the portion sizes). For the prices charged, I expected a better portion for dinner. I don't plan on coming back again to this place.

The decor was good, if that helps.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank cdin2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, New York
Level Contributor
138 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Great Middle Eastern Food in Fairfax!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Went here based on Tripadvisor reviews and was not disappointed! I brought my Mother & sister along who normally wouldn't go for this type of food, but they both LOVED it! You have to know my Mother, kinda hard to please and fussy about her food...Well, she couldn't praise it enough and even stated "this is the best place I have eaten since being in Fairfax!" If you did know my Mother, this statement alone, says ALOT!!! LOL The food is delicius, presented well, and so GOOD! Service was great, friendly and with a smile, the restaurant is spotless! The dips are just fabulous, and so is the big, thin bread that is served along with them. We had a custard like dessert that was out of this world!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pepper1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Too Highly Rated for the taste or service...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

This is an average tasting afghan/pakistani place and I think one would not feel cheated here but the kabobs are somewhat dry and service is not so good. When I get a feeling that we are served as second class citizen while the waiters are serving okay to folks they feel they can extort more out of, I make it a point to pay them even less in tips. This would make them feel better as they judged us right :)
There are a lot better places out there that have much better tasting kebobs etc with compromised service why should one try Mazadar. I thought it would be Mazadar=tasty :(

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BilalG_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia USA
Level Contributor
158 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Away too long!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

It had been a while since we had been to Mazadar and we remembered it as a very good place to dine; Great food and service and not crowded. So we recently went there with some friends: things have changed - the food is even better and a lot more happy customers have found it, too. We all had some combination of beef, lamb and chicken kabobs, and shared a large appetizer platter. We split a couple of desserts because we were all getting too full. It was great Middle Eastern food and we promised ourselves not to stay away so long again!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BobVirginiaUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mazadar Kabob also viewed

 

Been to Mazadar Kabob? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing