We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Middle Eastern Food in Fairfax!”
Review of Mazadar Kabob

Mazadar Kabob
Ranked #21 of 421 Restaurants in Fairfax
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Middle Eastern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Geneva, New York
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Great Middle Eastern Food in Fairfax!”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Went here based on Tripadvisor reviews and was not disappointed! I brought my Mother & sister along who normally wouldn't go for this type of food, but they both LOVED it! You have to know my Mother, kinda hard to please and fussy about her food...Well, she couldn't praise it enough and even stated "this is the best place I have eaten since being in Fairfax!" If you did know my Mother, this statement alone, says ALOT!!! LOL The food is delicius, presented well, and so GOOD! Service was great, friendly and with a smile, the restaurant is spotless! The dips are just fabulous, and so is the big, thin bread that is served along with them. We had a custard like dessert that was out of this world!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pepper1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    35
    10
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Herndon, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Too Highly Rated for the taste or service...”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

This is an average tasting afghan/pakistani place and I think one would not feel cheated here but the kabobs are somewhat dry and service is not so good. When I get a feeling that we are served as second class citizen while the waiters are serving okay to folks they feel they can extort more out of, I make it a point to pay them even less in tips. This would make them feel better as they judged us right :)
There are a lot better places out there that have much better tasting kebobs etc with compromised service why should one try Mazadar. I thought it would be Mazadar=tasty :(

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BilalG_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia USA
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Away too long!”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

It had been a while since we had been to Mazadar and we remembered it as a very good place to dine; Great food and service and not crowded. So we recently went there with some friends: things have changed - the food is even better and a lot more happy customers have found it, too. We all had some combination of beef, lamb and chicken kabobs, and shared a large appetizer platter. We split a couple of desserts because we were all getting too full. It was great Middle Eastern food and we promised ourselves not to stay away so long again!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BobVirginiaUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“An oasis in a strip mall”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Subdued lighting, the trickle of a restaurant water fountain, superior service, along warm baked bread, fresh spices and decent sized portions, Mazadar Kabob was a relaxing delight. We tried the Bolanee Kachaloo, which was like a bread based pirogi made with fresh spices and came with two dipping sauces and I had the vegetarian delight. It was exactly what I had hoped for, a healthy selection of spinach, eggplant and butternut squash dishes and seasoned rice. It can also be made vegan, for those who eat vegan. Everything was clean and fashionably presented from the tables to the plates to the sink in the bathroom (red glass). It was a good value and a treat for a date night.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderlustPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An enjoyable meal...”
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

We tried Mazadar based on previous reviews and were not disappointed. The food was delicious...from the hummus to the baklava..we will definitely visit again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LaPeach2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mazadar Kabob also viewed

 

Been to Mazadar Kabob? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing