We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One off dish, but otherwise cheap and tasty.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saravana Palace

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Saravana Palace
11725 Lee Hwy, Ste A15, Fairfax, VA 22030-8801
703-218-4182
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #175 of 377 Restaurants in Fairfax
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“One off dish, but otherwise cheap and tasty.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

Most of the food here was great - the Channa Bhatura was very tasty, and the special hakka noodles were spicy and different. Loved the mango lassis. However, the vegetable jalfreezi we ordered still had some frozen vegetables in it; while it was rectified immediately, it put a slightly damp note on the experience.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bjcthatisme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Horrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012 via mobile

I went there thinking would get to eat nice south Indian dosa, sadly the chutney was stale and dosa lousy. Don't think will go there again

Helpful?
Thank Ritesh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Aweful...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

When I first visited them 3 years ago, this was the best indian food I had. The cook seems to have changed since then. The food tasted like someone heated a frozen curry from Indian store, added some tomato ketchup to it and served it to is.

Wasted $45 for 2 people. Need to find another all vegetarian.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sridevi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great vegetarian South Indian delicacies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

This restaurant serves delicious and freshly made vegetarian South Indian dishes as well as some north Indian entrees. The brunch on weekends is amazing with a huge selection of appetizers, entrees and desserts. A must for anyone looking for delicious vegetarian meals. Try the butter dosa - that is my favorite but there are many others dishes that are fabulous.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WorldTraveller010111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Probably the best among all of Indian Vegetarian restaurants in Fairfax, VA”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

I have been to almost all of the Indian vegetarian restaurants in Fairfax, VA. I generally try the restaurant food at each place on multiple occasions prior to passing my comments. After visiting all of the Indian vegetarian restaurants several times, I have concluded that probably this one is the best with respect to food quality and taste. But there are a few dishes which look good but just do not have that taste as may get elsewhere. But for the majority of dishes served, you will enjoy both the quality and taste as typical South Indian. They also have awesome daily deals from Monday thru Friday, one day on All Dosas, one day on rice items, so on and so forth. Their South Indian filter coffee is very good, it might take a good 15-20 minutes from the time of order so please place the order accordingly. Rates are reasonable. Having said that, they can improve their buffet service on menu items and taste of several items served on the buffet.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank vjdante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saravana Palace also viewed

 

Been to Saravana Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing