We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, great location in Northern VA” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Fairfax Fair Oaks

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Fairfax Fair Oaks
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Fairfax
GreenLeadersBronze level
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, great location in Northern VA”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

I stayed one night while I was in Fairfax and needed to be close to George Mason and Fairfax City, so this was a great option. Reasonably priced and convenient to 66, 50 and the Fairfax County Parkway. The room was very nice, clean and large. The bed, like all Marriott beds, was very comfy and there was a lot of great lighting. The sofa in the living area had a nice chaise that I could chill out on. Amenities were good: nice breakfast (love the waffles) and the exercise room, though small, was perfect. The front desk staff was extremely helpful. I would definitely stay here again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jewel1547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoAnne R, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Fairfax Fair Oaks, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Hello Jewel 1547, We received your comments and gald that you enjoyed your stay with us. I know that our amenitites, with the Fitness Center, and Breakfast buffet, are things that our travelers look forward to, and glad that you felt they met your needs. While we do try to exceed our guest expectations, I hope you will return to our area, and we can show you that our outstanding service will feel that we are the only hotel when in our area. Hope to see you again.

Sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    92
    35
    13
    5
See reviews for
131
37
16
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Booked three king rooms with request to have one close to the elevator which has honored, my elderly in-laws were in the room closet to the elevator; the other two rooms were a few doors down. The suite was absolutely spotless, the entire property appeared "new" but when I inquired I was told it was about 5 years old. I would describe the decor as "modern art deco". There is just one drawer so if you were hoping to "unpack" for an extended stay that could be an issue. All staff were very friendly and willing to help. The flat screen is located on a console between the bed and living area and rotates, the view from the bed is at an angle which did not bother me. Bed "comfort" was very good for me which I hesitate to comment on as personal preferences vary! Also impossible to rate "location" although the area appeared safe and there is a large sports bar to walk to three blocks away. The breakfast buffet was fresh and extensive with separate stations for many pastry/bread offerings as well as cold ham/cheese/hard boiled eggs in addition to the "main line" for make your own waffles, eggs, breakfast meat, hot/cold cereal and fresh fruit, etc. Picky criticism is that the plastic silverware is "weak" and the coffee was not "great" but is available 24/7. I would absolutely recommend and return to this property!

Room Tip: Ask for special requests in advance, mine were honored.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mnmel1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We reserved a two bed suite with sofabed for 4 travelers two months in advance for this Friday and Saturday night. We called ahead on Friday afternoon to inform the hotel that we would be arriving after midnight. Upon arrival, the room that we were allocated had just one bed, and we were told that they were totally booked and there was no other room available for us - this despite the fact that the reservation clearly spelled out the need for a two bed room for 4 people. To be fair, the front desk attendant was very helpful in bringing us a rollaway bed and bedding for the rollaway bed and sofa as well as enough towels for all of us, but it was very discouraging after being on the road for several hours and wanting nothing more than to go to bed on arrival to have to work through all of the hassle.
In addition to not having the beds and associated adequate space for our group, the room was strangely configured. There was only one dresser drawer in the entire suite. The bathroom had a toilet/tub/shower but no sink. The sink was out in the main room. I would have liked to be able to wash my hands in the bathroom. The TV was also located between the bedroom area and sitting area - there was really no good place to watch TV. This was a handicapped accessible room so perhaps that explains the strange configuration.
The complementary breakfast was complete with hot options (eggs, Canadian Bacon), cereals, toast/English muffins, yogurt, make your own waffles, etc. The toasters in the breakfast area were at the front of the breakfast buffet line which held up the flow through the line - they should be placed at a place where toast can be made without blocking everyone else flowing through the line. The coffee was awful - it was so weak to be almost tasteless.
We would not stay at this hotel again. It was clean and the staff was friendly, but overall it did not meet our needs.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrenkardD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argyle, New York
Level Contributor
88 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We stayed for a night as we were traveling through the area. I booked this hotel with an application on my phone called Hotels Tonight. For one thing. I LOVE LOVE SpringHill Suites. They are by far the best by far for comfort and and a quick breakfast which is included with your room stay.The staff is usually very helpful and warm as well. This hotel though was not the most comfortable one I have been in.The bed was NOT at ALL comfortable. I really missed the pillow top. I called down for more pillows....Sadly they never arrived. I went out to the car and got my own. This hotel is clean and in a safe area. It has a parking garage. There were three large college groups there but was quiet at night. Over all a good stay, just wish my bed was as cozy.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FrogWhizzer_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyde Park, New York
Level Contributor
77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We stayed three nights and were very pleased with everything. The premises are very well maintained; the room was spotless and comfortable and the staff was extraordinarily friendly. You cannot pass near a staff member without receiving a friendly greeting. Parminder repeatedly asked if breakfast had been okay and did we need anything. Our grandsons enjoyed the pool, which was very clean. The breakfast buffet was excellent - eggs, turkey sausage, waffles, assorted juices and a variety of cereals, breads and pastries.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2oldetravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vestal, New York
Level Contributor
272 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

We truly enjoy staying at SpringHill Suites. We have never been disappointed. This one met all of our needs as expected. It is in a nice area of Fairfax, near the village center. Easy to find off I-66 and close for us to relatives we visit. The rooms are comfortable, quiet with good ventilation. The hotel desk staff are super friendly. The breakfast buffet was perfect for us, eggs, breads, cereals and hot coffee. The host/hostess for the breakfast room were terrific keeping everything well presented and well stocked. We will definitely be back and highly recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pulmqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Plaines, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

I stay at this hotel about 30 times a year. The staff is like family and is always welcoming. The general manager greats me regularly by saying 'welcome home'. While the people are most important, I also stay here because as a business owner there is great value for the money, the location - almost right next to GMU and I-66 wonderful, and I feel safe in the hotel.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fairfax hotels
0.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Fairfax
1.8 mi away
Residence Inn Fairfax City
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Fairfax City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Fairfax Fair Oaks
2.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency FairFax
Hyatt Regency FairFax
#8 of 21 in Fairfax
4.0 of 5 stars 515 reviews
2.2 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Fairfax Fair Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Fairfax Fair Oaks

Property: SpringHill Suites Fairfax Fair Oaks
Address: 11191 Waples Mill Road, Fairfax, VA 22030 (Formerly SpringHill Suites Fairfax)
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Fairfax
#10 Business Hotel in Fairfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Fairfax Fair Oaks 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New SpringHill Suites Fairfax includes All Suites Featuring a Heated Indoor Pool, State of the Art Fitness Center, Market Pantry with meals, snacks, beer, wine, cheese, and soft drinks. Suites with 32" LCD HD TV's, Free Premium Cable, In suite coffemaker and coffee, Microwave, Wet Bar, Refrig, Iron, Ironboard, two- two line phones, Free Internet, wired and wireless, I-Pod Docking station with AM/FM radio, Accessible rooms, Free Business Center, Free Local Calls, Complimentary Garage Parking, and Meeting room space for all occasions holding 60 persons. The hotel is centrally located in beautiful Fairfax convenient to Fair Oaks Mall, Starbucks, Denny's, McDonalds, Chilis's, Boston Market, and walking distance to many other restuarants. GMU and the Patriot Center, are 1 mile, with a short drive to the Udvar-Hazy Air Space Museum and Washington DC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your SpringHill Suites Fairfax Fair Oaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Fairfax Hotel Fairfax

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing