We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“welcoming staff - safe hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Fairfax Fair Oaks

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Fairfax Fair Oaks
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Fairfax
GreenLeadersBronze level
Des Plaines, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“welcoming staff - safe hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

I stay at this hotel about 30 times a year. The staff is like family and is always welcoming. The general manager greats me regularly by saying 'welcome home'. While the people are most important, I also stay here because as a business owner there is great value for the money, the location - almost right next to GMU and I-66 wonderful, and I feel safe in the hotel.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    92
    35
    13
    5
See reviews for
131
37
16
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

I stay at this hotel almost every weekend. It's great- nice, clean and comfortable. The staff, particularly Parminder, is veeery friendly, helpful, and a good host. They serve a very high variety of food and do a great job ensuring there is enough. The waffles are great!!! I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kamiiilka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

We stayed at the Hotel before a few years ago and enjoyed our stay so we decided to stay again. It is a clean place, great breakfast, convenient to the Metro and the price was reasonable. It had everything we were looking for except for a comfortable bed. It was HORRIBLE!! If we didn't have a full schedule that weekend, we would have complained and got another hotel. We came in late every night from a hard day of work and left early in morning. Our backs hurt everyday. It is a shame for such a nice place for it to be so uncomfortable. We will never stay there again. I did bring it to the attention of the staff as we were leaving and there response was the beds were comfortable. Never again!

Room Tip: Do not stay here if you want a comfortable nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Pugboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoAnne R, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Fairfax Fair Oaks, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Hello, We thank you for taking the time to send us your comments on your recent stay, and are very glad that you enjoyed the amenities in the hotel, and Breakfast had a variety of items, but your comments on the bed will be looked into. We are a fairly new hotel, and definately want all our guests to have a great experience. We hope to see you again if you come to the area, and let us know, so that we can upgrade your room. Hope to see you soon,

Regards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

I stay at this hotel on a regular basis for work. The staff is outstanding and friendly. The GM of the hotel is always available and truly cares that her guests are comfortable and taken care of. The rooms are clean and fresh. The morning breakfast has options. The staff is very accommodating for a special request. They make being a road warrior fun. Thank you.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sas4760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoAnne R, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Fairfax Fair Oaks, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Hello Sas4760, Thank you for writing us about your stay, and we always look forward to welcoming back our guests and hope that you do enjoy our Hot breakfast, free internet, and we are your 'home away from home' when you travel. I know that being away from home on a regular basis, is not easy, and hope that you will continue to stay with us, and hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Stayed 3 nights near Christmas.Parking garage was good. It was a rainy night. Quick check in. Was given a quiet room as I asked. Lower level near the pool. Was very quiet. No view but that is OK. Pool hours did not work for us so we did not get to use. Breakfast was very good. Good hot items, breads, fruits, juice, coffee. The hot items changed each of the 3 nights we stayed. Breakfast was good and we didn't have to go out for breakfast. Hotel was very good and a good value considering the included breakfast. Will stay there again. Staff very professional.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chad J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoAnne R, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Fairfax Fair Oaks, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Hello, Smep013, Thank you for letting us know about your stay, and that you did enjoy our Hot breafast buffet, location of room, and we are sorry about the mixup with the pool hours. We do like to make sure that our guests have a great experience, and will return to our hotel when you are in the Fairfax area. As we are new to our market and your comments are appreciated, and passed on to all our departments for review and help us improve our service and amenities. Please let us know if you come back, so that we can give you the same great service.

Sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
322 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

On our way to see family in Virginia, we stopped at SpringHill Suites for the night. The hotel seems like it is fairly new. The lobby looks fresh and recently done, and the entire hotel is welcoming, clean and comfortable.

Our room was on the 1st floor, close to the lobby, At first, I wondered about noise, but when we opened the door, we realized the living area was closest to the hallway, not the bed. The room was spacious, with a kitchenette (including fridge!) and a nice sofa and desk. We watched TV in there and had a snack before heading to bed.

The bed was comfortable and the sleep, quiet. The bathroom is large, as well.

Breakfast was nice, and when I went down to grab something a little past "closing time" the employee cleaning up was helpful and nice.

I used the fitness room which, while small, had all I needed. There are some free weights, 2 treadmills, two elliptical machines and a bike. There are no mats though for floor exercises. I made do.

One issue. Though when we checked in, the employee at the front desk told us the pool opened at 5am, it did not open until 4pm, because they required a lifeguard on duty, This stunk because the reason we selected this hotel was because they had an indoor pool. This may cause us to think twice about booking again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smep013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoAnne R, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Fairfax Fair Oaks, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Dear smepo13, Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us, and see that you had a great stay, and our breakfast met your needs, and yes we are still in the 'new' stage and always want to make sure our guests have a exceptional experience, and am so sorry that you were given the wrong pool hours. I hope that you will return to our area again, and continue to visit our hotel, and we wish you a Happy Holiday Season.

Sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

My husband and my 2 teenage boys stayed 2 nights here Dec.13-15 because of a swim meet at GMU. We live 50 minutes away but because I knew northern VA traffic is so bad, we decided to book a room here so that we can save time. They had to be at GMU early morning and then had to go back for finals at 4:30pm.

The positives: room was clean, breakfast was alright (they didn't stay around to eat but picked up some food before they left each morning). The staff was very friendly and was able to give my husband a room with 2 double beds and a sofabed though we could only book a king at the time so it was nice of them to honor our request at check-in. The double beds were comfortable..both boys had their own bed because they are on the taller side. There was a half wall to separate the couch and a desk from the 2 beds. Location was great though there are lots of traffic on the way to GMU on Weeknights and mornings. The drive to GMU took longer than we thought: 15-20 minutes though it is about 3.5 miles away. Weekend traffic was less. Great Indoor parking but it was completely filled on Friday night due to upper parking lot which was closed to ice.

The negatives: The sofabed was so uncomfortable the first night, my husband could not sleep at all so he and I switched places...he went home (we live 50 minutes away) and I came and slept the second night on the couch not the sofabed. He is 6'2" and I am 5'4 so the couch fit the length of my body. The bad thing was he had to drive back and I went home the next day to send my other child to school. The other thing that bothered us was the heating unit. We could not get the temperature we wanted. The front office told us it takes awhile but no matter how long we waited it could not stay stable so I just turned it off because cold air blew the entire time.
Lastly, we could not find a parking space on Friday..probably because the top portion of the parking lot was closed due to ice so we couldn't fault the hotel..but it was a hassle because people were fighting for the spaces and we were told our other option was to park across the street in a shopping center. NO way was I going to leave our car in the outdoor shopping center so I waited for 20 minutes in the parking lot to get a space which wasn't fun at all.

Overall, it was alright. Would I stay here again next year? Not sure. If they can replace the sofabed...then I will come back..maybe it was just that one in our room.

Room Tip: Don't rely on the sofabed
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trixgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoAnne R, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Fairfax Fair Oaks, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear Trixgirl, We appreciate your taking the time to wrie us about your stay, and I am glad that you did find us close to GMU, during your recent swim meet. While I realize that your good comments on the hotel were appreciated, I am really sorry about the Sofa Sleeper bed. We always want to hear about any problems, so that we can resolve them, and also our AC units are individually controlled, and as we are a new hotel, I apologize for the problem with the AC unit and not getting to the desired temperature for you. I hope that you will try us again to prove that we do have great service, and our accommodations will meet your expectations. We hope you have a great Holiday Season, and Happy New Year.

Sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fairfax hotels
0.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Fairfax
1.8 mi away
Residence Inn Fairfax City
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Fairfax City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Fairfax Fair Oaks
2.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency FairFax
Hyatt Regency FairFax
#8 of 21 in Fairfax
4.0 of 5 stars 515 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Fairfax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Fairfax Fair Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Fairfax Fair Oaks

Property: SpringHill Suites Fairfax Fair Oaks
Address: 11191 Waples Mill Road, Fairfax, VA 22030 (Formerly SpringHill Suites Fairfax)
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Fairfax
#10 Business Hotel in Fairfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Fairfax Fair Oaks 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New SpringHill Suites Fairfax includes All Suites Featuring a Heated Indoor Pool, State of the Art Fitness Center, Market Pantry with meals, snacks, beer, wine, cheese, and soft drinks. Suites with 32" LCD HD TV's, Free Premium Cable, In suite coffemaker and coffee, Microwave, Wet Bar, Refrig, Iron, Ironboard, two- two line phones, Free Internet, wired and wireless, I-Pod Docking station with AM/FM radio, Accessible rooms, Free Business Center, Free Local Calls, Complimentary Garage Parking, and Meeting room space for all occasions holding 60 persons. The hotel is centrally located in beautiful Fairfax convenient to Fair Oaks Mall, Starbucks, Denny's, McDonalds, Chilis's, Boston Market, and walking distance to many other restuarants. GMU and the Patriot Center, are 1 mile, with a short drive to the Udvar-Hazy Air Space Museum and Washington DC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your SpringHill Suites Fairfax Fair Oaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Fairfax Hotel Fairfax

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing