We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not return”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Fairfax Fair Oaks
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Fairfax
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights while house hunting. Our room was clean and stocked appropriately, and housekeeping did a nice job of cleaning and replenishing everything. The drain to the bar sink in our room broke but that was not a big deal.

What we found disgusting/annoying while staying at this property: no air in the hallways (not "hot air" or "cold air;" NO AIR); dead and alive bugs/worms all over the floor in the gym and on the ground floor by the elevator (they were outside too so they definitely have an infestation problem); ice machines unplugged; water fountain by the gym had no water; the door on the bottom floor was propped open and guests were smoking inside the property; the floors and stairways were NEVER vacuumed while we were here (we saw the same strip of paper on the floor in the same spot every single day); no parking in the front of the property EVER; employees talking to each other and cussing in the lobby; the computers in the lobby barely worked and the printer never did. This is the dirtiest Marriott property that I have ever stayed at and I would definitely not recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MrsHermesMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan101010, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Fairfax Fair Oaks, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2012

Helli Ms. Hermes, I received your recent Comments and we are truly sorry, that we did not exceed your expectations, while visiting the Fairfax area. We have taken your comments very seriously, have taken steps to make sure that all our public areas are clean and should you return to our area and we hope you would give us a chance to let you experience our outstanding service, and find that our hotel is a friendly and clean property. Please let us know if you are in the Fairfax area, so that we can upgrade your stay.

Sincerely,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (358)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

240 - 246 of 358 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2012

I recently reserved a block of 20 rooms through this hotel for a funeral. Family came in not only from across the country and internationally. I could not of coordinated this event without the help of the Sales Director who assisted with everything from restaurant reservations for 50 people each night, suggestions on places to visit, help with the metro, maps and even suggested the amount of time it would take to get to the various places. Every time I walked in to the lobby, I was greeted by the staff and welcomed back, asked how my day was. I feel like I have a new group of friends there.
The hotel is conviently located between both airports. There are numerous excellent restaurants and shopping close by with easy access to 66.
The rooms were spacious and comfortable. The breakfast each morning was wonderful with a good selection. There is a multi level garage with free parking. The pool was clean.
I can not say enough good things about this hotel. If you are looking for a place that can accomodate a large group or just one room, if you want exceptional value, this is the place to stay. We are looking forward to going back.
Special thanks to Brian and his staff for their hard work to make sure our group had a comfortable and enjoyable stay. They are the best!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatheeG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We were in VA to attend a family member's funeral and the hotel had been incredibly helpful in coordinating rooms for all of the family members arriving from all over the country. They even set us up with a meeting room one evening for a family dinner (we had pizza and salads brought in as there is not a restaurant or room service at this hotel).

It might be a bit of a stretch to call the room we had a suite as it was more like an elegant efficiency. None the less, it was tastefully decorated in what I would call modern-retro. It was comfortable, well lit, the bed was oh so nice and the bathroom was spacious.

The breakfast each morning was plentiful and provided enough variety to satisfy everyone. The seating was a bit cramped at times, but I put that up to the sheer number of us that descended upon the area at any one time (It was a large family gathering).

The staff was friendly, helpful and seemed happy to help with any request that we had.

While we were there we made use of the guest laundry. Although there was only one washer and one dryer, they were both fairly new horizontal axis machines and did a good job for a reasonable cost ($1 for the washer and the same for the dryer).

Room Tip: We had a room that faced towards the storage facility next door and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pshiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Needing a place to crash for a night while visiting a friend for dinner, she mentioned this Springhill Suites as a nice place near her apartment. It was convenient to Fairfax Corners shopping and dining center as well as a huge Wegman's grocery for stocking up. Free hi-speed wifi, good breakfast (including make your own waffles) and a two-story parking garage adds to the value of this property. There is also a few snacks and microwavable foods for purchase at the front desk.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leggman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We stayed here for a weekend to visit DC. Nice and new. In a nice area with plenty of shopping and restaurants nearby. It was a good place to sleep and rest. Clean and with a good breakfast. The kids loved making their own waffles. Needed more fruit but good to have something before sightseeing. The commute was not bad to DC and all the sights. The staff was kind and helpful. The pull out bed was very small however. More like a twin sized mattress.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank illinois101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

a very nice Marriott alternative hotel. while the SpringHill Suites are not full service, there are a number of solid delivery options as well as restaurants nearby that are available. have not met a nicer more cordial staff at ANY property in the past year and they were as helpful about referring good places to eat as well as driving shortcuts around the area.

rooms are spacious and since the property is relatively new, everything is clean and orderly. I give an enthusiastic and complete recommendation to this hotel and will be staying at others in the weeks and months to come.

Room Tip: check out Coastal Flats nearby for amazingly fresh seafood.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rtbasic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We booked this hotel through hotels.com. The price is pretty reasonable.

After having a long driving from Boston, we arrived the hotel around 3:15pm and was trying to check in to take a rest. However the room is not ready for us. They kept asking us to give them 30 minutes THREE times. It took two hours for us to check in. They explained that "there was a power outage a few days ago and everything is slow." But it really gave us a bad first impression.

The room was fine, nice and clean. Internet access was stable, not fast though. You can only use wireless. There was wire in room but didn't work. The air condition was working fine but a little loud.

Service was good. They are nice but always busy.

Breakfast was average.

There is a indoor pool, but not that big.

The location also is ok, a few minutes driving from I-66 and 30 minutes driving to downtown DC,

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bostonakira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fairfax hotels
2.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Fairfax
2.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Fairfax
Hyatt Regency Fairfax
#5 of 22 in Fairfax
182 reviews
1.8 mi away
Residence Inn Fairfax City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks
1 mi away
Hampton Inn Fairfax City
0.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Fairfax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Fairfax Fair Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Fairfax Fair Oaks

Address: 11191 Waples Mill Rd, Fairfax, VA 22030-7453 (Formerly SpringHill Suites Fairfax)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Fairfax
#10 Business Hotel in Fairfax
Price Range: $93 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Fairfax Fair Oaks 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SpringHill Suites Fairfax hotel is located at the corner of Waples Mill and Government Pkwy. We are less than 4-miles from the George Mason University Patriots and offer free: covered parking, hotel-wide WiFi, and a daily breakfast buffet. Guests will enjoy our Fairfax hotel’s spacious suites and Marriott bedding that features pillow-top mattresses and crisp linens. Our suites include a partition wall that separates the sleeping area from the living area and a sectional sleeper sofa, a work space, and a wet-bar offering a mini-fridge, microwave, and coffee maker. Travelers will appreciate the 24-hour fitness center, onsite meeting space, the 24-hour business center offering free fax, print, and copying services, and our location close to the Vienna Metro Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your SpringHill Suites Fairfax Fair Oaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Fairfax Hotel Fairfax

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing