We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite what we were expecting”

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Fairfax
Reserve with OpenTable
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Fairfax is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #38 of 419 Restaurants in Fairfax
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $60 - $80
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Government County Pkwy
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not quite what we were expecting”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We had been planning on visiting Ruth Chris for sometime and so we were very excited for our dinner date there. It didn't really live up to our expectations because everything was just good but not really exquisite. Also our server talked so quietly we could barely hear anything she said.

We probably won't go back because the price was just not worth our experience. We enjoyed it, bt wouldn't do it again.

Read our full review here: http://pandapressadventures.blogspot.com/2012/11/restaurant-ruth-chris-steak-house.html

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PandaPress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    48
    28
    16
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very Happy Happy Hour”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Although I've only eaten in the restaurant once, it was delicious, I've been to their Happy Hour a few times. It's not an inexpensive restaurant. If you're concerned about the quality of the food at this restaurant, and want to get your toe wet before (financially) jumping in, try out their Happy Hour. There are about 6 or 7 offerings, and I've had almost all of them. All of them were good. For $7 each, you cannot go wrong. And the drinks, which are very good, are $7 also. This branch of Ruths Chris has a patio overlooking a shopping area. When the weather is nice, it's a pleasant way to spend an evening with friends. The service is almost always exceptional. (I went with a big group once, and we overwhelmed them.) The Cost Per Person assessment that I gave was for the restaurant. I'd rate it between casual and more formal dining for the bar.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FrugalFrannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, Scotland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Steaks to die for!”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Had a very nice evening with family at Ruth's Chris. All the courses were really excellent from the shrimp starter, the rib eye to the ice cream!. It have never tasted a better steak. There was also an excellent set 3 course dinner which was really good value @ 53 dollars!. Although not surprising in a quality restaurant the staff were very attentive and helpful.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nelly16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very nice experience”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Usually I can find some nice aged steaks, throw a baked potato in the oven, make a green salad, and select a nice bottle of red from the rack at home, so I never feel the need to go to a big-time steakhouse. Well, we had such a nice meal, my outlook has changed. We ordered the porterhouse for two--it was done to a turn--and had nice filet and tenderloin of a T-bone. Salad was tasty--got the wedge of lettuce with bleu cheese crumbles, sides of au gratin potatoes and broccoli were very well done. Great bottle of cabernet from NAPA--don't have that one in the rack! We sat near the window, the place had quite a few people in it for a Monday night.

Service was attentive but unobtrusive. I'm sold!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WineloverVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Georgia
Level Contributor
151 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Superb NY Strip”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Great meal, great steak --- it's what they do and they do it well. You should know what to expect before you go.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WATIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruth's Chris Steak House - Fairfax also viewed

 

Been to Ruth's Chris Steak House - Fairfax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing