We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nice quiet place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Wine House

The Wine House
3950 University Dr., Suite 212, Fairfax, VA 22030
703 352-2211
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Wine House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #42 of 390 Restaurants in Fairfax
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Wine Bar
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Fairfax
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice quiet place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Very nice selection of wines by the glass. The food is good, but a little pricey for what you get. Very friendly service.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Wolfde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    40
    11
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
117 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“It's not just the wine that makes it very good ...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Our meal was wonderful - a great pairing of wine and food. First, a word to the wise: Both times I visited The Wine House there were patrons queued waiting for table seating. It worked best to call ahead and make a reservation for their 6pm seating to avoid the wait. At least the folks waiting had some nice beverages to enjoy!

We had a good idea of what we intended to order from the menu, so we opted for a bottle of the owner's New Zealand vineyard's pinot gris, which was earthy/floral and just right. The artisanal cheese and charcuterie board appetizer is customized to suit your appetite. We had the evening special - a spinach-stuffed flounder with beurre blanc accompanied by fingerling potatoes and haricot verts - and pan-seared salmon with orange & balsamic honey glaze, baby bok choy and sauteed Potato. Both meals were delicious.

Our server, Kylie, was very attentive, but not intrusive. The Wine House uses dried grass arrangements as table dividers to split their four-tops into two two-tops. I could imagine some couples having a problem with the lack of intimacy that a separate table would provide.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DiscriminatingPalate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wine Experts Welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

This place is AMAZING! Definately go on a Wednesday for a flight night, you can split it even with a friend. A meat and cheese board usually can accomplish your hunger. Jeremy the chef is amazing there and the flavors he created pair well with anything they offer.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Samantha U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A rare find in Fairfax City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Regularly hit for lunch and a great choice for happy hour. I've yet to visit for dinner, but it's on my list of things to do. Wonderful wines, sandwiches and salads, although removing the salads from the summer menu, and replacing with only a spinch salad and grilled vegetable salad has not been a popular move among your regular lunch customers. The former menu featured wonderful salads with grilled chicken and steak that were consistently delicious, yummy sandwiches, and the always popular cheese board.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie_Absolutely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
“It really is all about the wine.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

The Wine House is a rarity. More wine store with nice food than restaurant and that is how it should be. The wine selection is interesting to say the least with something from just about everywhere and an intriguing approach. The food is always good, but it really is about the wine and finding something nice to eat with it. The prices are reasonable. Wines selling for 20 or 30 dollars retail get a mark up of $10 - a corkage fee basically.

What impressed me most were the excellent Virginia Voignier and Sierra Foothills Zinfandel - wines not usually on anyone's wine list and certainly not at these great prices. The passion fruit creme bruelle was to die for - not your typical pudding with crust. Also had the crusted short ribs, which again were excellent.

But, really this is about wine and it shows. Servers are knowledgeable and attentive and the manager is really helpful in providing great recommendations.

This is a nice casual date nice place.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wine House also viewed

 

Been to The Wine House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing