We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good food, good service. Better at slow times.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of California Pizza Kitchen

California Pizza Kitchen
Ranked #54 of 390 Restaurants in Fairfax
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
121 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Good food, good service. Better at slow times.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Our family lives nearby and enjoys this restaurant often. The food is very good, as is the table service. My only suggestion is to visit some other time than Saturday night, unless you are looking for a loud, jammed house. In my case, I requested takeout when the line for a table was long, as I was interested in a more conversational experience.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank PeterNMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    35
    3
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
154 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Decent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

They have decent food, with both pasta and pizza and other selections, and we've never had bad service there. They have a good kids' menu, and my kids love it. I find it a bit overpriced for what you get, however.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Motherontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
296 reviews
254 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Consistent and Delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

You know what you are going to get when you dine at CPK. The menu rarely changes and it is a bit of a factory but one knows that going into eat. Their pizzas are delish (sauce is a bit sugary so be prepared for that...I happen to like that) and their other dishes (pastas) aren't half bad.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LessWork M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
256 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Great food..Excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Eat here often. Thing I like best is that it is very consistent..food is great..restaurant is clean ..and well managed. Staff works together to deliver food & always with a smile. It is so much better than fast food & prices are competitive. My husband & I have eaten all the salads here - each one is delicious. Pizza is just the way we like it. Sometimes there is a wait.. shops close by and the area across the street is very nice.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LFMME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good Food, Good Service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Eat here a few times a year usually for lunch on a weekend or govt. holiday. Upside is they have good food and good service. Downside is usually a wait (20-40 minutes). But I am usually with my daughter and we both really like the food, so we wait. Not sure if there is a wait during weekday lunch. I have tried various things, really like the pizza and salads, my daughter likes the pasta dishes. More recently i have been ordering the fish tacos and they are awesome! the best I have had outside of San Diego (where they really know how to make them). I have tried them in many places and these at Cal Pizza are really superior to other places!! Overall have always had a good experience and continue to be a repeat customer.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sparkledeb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed California Pizza Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to California Pizza Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing