We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“good place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn University Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Comfort Inn University Center
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Fairfax
Long Island,NY
1 review
“good place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2010

My family stayed here for one night. We had a pleasant stay. We very much appreciated the Chinese Restaurant that was at the hotel. After a long drive from Long Island,NY it was great to not have to drive to dinner. After dinner my son and I enjoyed the indoor pool. The water temp was warm and a good swim is always a great way to end the day.I found this hotel quiet,even though it is off of a main road. The most important thing to me is cleanliness and this hotel did not disappoint. The room including the bathroom was clean. Another great reason to stay at Comfort Inn is the free breakfast. Belgium Waffles,hard boiled eggs, cereal, muffins,donuts,toast and many more items. I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nd2ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    69
    39
    15
    16
See reviews for
61
38
22
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2010

On a recent business trip to D.C., I had the pleasure to stay at this Comfort Inn in Fairfax, Virginia. I felt compelled to write a review due to the excellent service of the front desk staff, which treated me like family from the moment I arrived until long after I departed (more on that later).

I choose this location due to its proximity to IAD (13 miles), great value, and their do-it-yourself waffle machine (YUM!). The hotel was centrally located to all the places I needed to be meeting in northern Virginia and D.C. and was a great price for such a last minute trip. I booked a king bedroom and got upgraded to a deluxe king room upon check in. The deluxe king had a hot tub, microwave, and fridge! It worked out well because I stocked up on some snacks and drinks from the Giant grocery store across the street.

After I left and returned to Cali, I realized that I had left some files for work in my hotel room. I contacted the wonderful front desk staff and they took the trouble of mailing it all back to me. All in all, a fantastic experience! Next time, I have to try their indoor swimming pool that looked very inviting!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank genechien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mystic, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2010

We recently stayed at this hotel while visiting the Fairfax and D.C. area. We brought our dog with us and found this to be a great pet friendly hotel. We were probably the only ones with a dog but none the less, it was perfect for us. In fact, right next to the hotel is a wonderful park with a great hiking trail where we walked our dog in the morning and evening. The hotel even provides bags to pick up after the dog. Attached are some pictures of the park, the high school, the trail and the hotel. The front desk team was very friendly and accommodating. The rooms were more or less average and we found them comfortable for us and our dog (who was crated while we slept and while we left the hotel, she does great in hotels). The breakfast was standard fare for this chain, waffles, cereal, bagels, and coffee/juice. The hotel was clean and very safe. The area has plenty of restaurants including high end chains like Ruths Chris Steak House and the popular restaurants like PF Changs, Chilis, etc. A good breakfast place in Fairfax is called First Watch and only about 4 miles from the hotel. Great service, fast and good food. We would definitely stay at this hotel again. Priced very reasonable. The pet fee was $25.00 extra a day, we would like to see that drop down to $15/day. Overall a very good experience. We had our two children with us also and they enjoyed the visit. The pool was very clean. We noticed several high schools staying at the hotel but the kids were fun and reasonable. We never worried about the kids, in fact it reassured us that it was a safe hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeviceSpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
160 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

We always like Comfort Inns but this one was a surprise price wise! Since it's near Washington, DC we expected expensive and busy/noisy. It was very reasonably priced, quiet and friendly service. The gift shop had lot's of souvenirs at very good prices. Expanded continental breakfast was included with the room and that was tasty and plentiful. Everything in the place was very clean....The front desk personnel were very helpful and patient with us tourists in learning the "metro" system and where to eat, etc.

The only complaint we had was that the housekeeping staff knocked on our door at 8 am asking if we wanted our room cleaned. She woke us up since we were vacationing. The front desk said to put our do not disturb sign on the door to avoid that happening again.

I recommend this hotel to leisure and business travellers.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
77 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2010

when i first checked in, i was greeted by a friendly staff. lobby was clean, parking (for a bus) was more than adequate. several groups checked in behind me and i never saw one kid in their groups. it was quiet, very convenient to DC and Arlington. as a matter of fact, i was supposed to be on mass ave in dc at 0830 the next morning and was not looking forward to the traffic. i left the hotel at 0725 and was sitting at the hotel at 0810. absolutely remarkable.
when i walked into my room, i was taken back by the "funkiness" of the room. i had been up-graded to a jacuzzi suite. this jacuzzi was so big, i could have fit all of my children in there! see the photos.
because of the nature of my business, i was contacted by ms. gollaly? and she was very personable. if and when i bring a group i would not hesitate to contact her as i felt she would be a very helpful contact to work with.
the only thing i thought odd was the jacuzzi/bathroom layout. i have never stayed in a room where i had to look for the toilet!
i would recommend this property and would not hesitate to stay again. it was very convenient to many shops/store most travelers would look for. a giant food store was just across the street and because of my diet, i do not do fast food. having the microwave/frig allowed me to get more nutritous food and cook in my room.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terryhawks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
146 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2010

We loved Fairfax, the NRA Museum and all the people we met.
The hotel is really nice, the rooms are really lovely, the staff are very good. Easy secure parking, two lifts, excellent breakfasts. 7-11 store with seconds walk, a good Ruby Tuesday restaurant over the road. All in all the very best place we stayed on this trip.
I will return to visit the National Firearms Museum again, and I will stay at the Comfort Inn and nowhere else !
Nothing at all can be said that is bad about this hotel, only good things.
Richard, London, ENGLAND.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trigga1526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2009

There are two towers to this hotels. Groups of kids will be in one tower during the spring. I am a tour director and they put tour directors, bus drivers and individual reservations in the second tower. I have never had a problem with kids slamming doors, etc., at night because I am far away from them. Some of the rooms even have jacuzzis (although when you are managing a tour you never have time to use them). Hotel has a shuttle to the Metro.

Breakfast is in the Chinese restaurant in the hotel. You have the choice of a regular American style breakfast or an oriental breakfast. I have enjoyed tasting all the oriental items. There are fresh donuts.

The hotel is a little far out for visiting DC, but student groups have to balance price with location and it is a good choice for them.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LSKahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fairfax
10.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Arlington Boulevard
Comfort Inn Arlington Boulevard
#10 of 16 in Falls Church
4.0 of 5 stars 202 reviews
11.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Ballston
Comfort Inn Ballston
#23 of 49 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 stars 377 reviews
6.7 mi away
Quality Inn Tysons Corner
Quality Inn Tysons Corner
#11 of 14 in Tysons Corner
3.0 of 5 stars 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Fairfax
9.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 12 in Springfield
4.0 of 5 stars 200 reviews
11.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn University Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn University Center

Property: Comfort Inn University Center
Address: 11180 Fairfax Blvd, Fairfax, VA 22030-5048
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Fairfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn University Center 2*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Comfort Inn University Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn University Hotel Fairfax
Comfort Inn Fairfax
Fairfax Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing