We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Best Stay Ever!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn University Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Comfort Inn University Center
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Fairfax
Newport News, VA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Stay Ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

My wife and I rented an excellent room with a king size bed and a hot tub on July 26, 2014. We made the reservation in advance using Choice Hotel points (the redemption value was very reasonable, as was the actual price we would have paid otherwise), because we were going to see Dave Matthews Band at Jiffy Lube Live in Bristow that night. This hotel is just a short drive from that venue (20 minutes), which is great, because most of the hotels in the vicinity of that venue are overpriced and overbooked. We checked in at 1am, and not only was our exact room held, but it was the cleanest and most appealing room we've stayed in yet. Not only that, but it was quiet, had a fantastic hot breakfast that was served until 11am, and a wonderful indoor pool on the ground floor (also very nicely decorated, and spacious too). The staff was very pleasant at check-in and check-out, and we will definitely stay there again. Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FullTimeDadTRG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort_Inn_Fairfax, Manager at Comfort Inn University Center, responded to this review, September 26, 2014
We truly appreciate your great feedback. I'm very excited that you had an opportunity to discover our hotel, and look forward to your future visits. On behalf of our entire team thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    75
    41
    16
    16
See reviews for
65
39
22
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax County, Virginia
Level Contributor
146 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

On Main Street (US-50) close to US-29, I-66 & VA-236. Asian restaurant on site or a Choice of Shopping & restaurants near-by & in Old Town Fairfax just to the east on VA-236. Our room was dated but clean & spacious. Front desk service was friendly & informative. Be mindful of the Weekday traffic during the rush hours (7:00 / 9:30 AM & 4:00 / 7:00 PM) as it can be heavy for those that are not used to this type of traffic.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uss-tanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mundelein, Illinois
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

Don't bother picking up a rental at the airport, take a cab to the hotel, a 20 minute drive. There is an Enterprise location at the hotel to make your arrangements. Maneuvering DC traffic if unfamiliar is a witch....unless you want to site see at 10pm on a Sunday nite as I. But I saw monuments in DC I'd only seen pics in books. Beautiful, which I had more time to visit our Capitol.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort_Inn_Fairfax, Manager at Comfort Inn University Center, responded to this review, September 26, 2014
We truly appreciate your great feedback. I'm very excited that you had an opportunity to discover our hotel, and look forward to your future visits. On behalf of our entire team thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

I stayed here for 5 nights, as it was close to where I needed to be. Even though this is supposed to be a NON SMOKING hotel, the first room I was given smelt like an ashtray. I went and complained and was given another room immediately. The room was spacious but very dated, and the carpet DID NOT pass the white sock test....very grubby! I found the bed to be comfortable, but could not fathom the kitchen area which was a nasty looking scratched, black metal type unit consisting of a four burner cooktop, an oven, and small refrigerator which had a freezer with no door and was caked in ice, and a sink.. There were no pots or pans with which to use the cooktop or oven, and not a single dish or utensil, so why have a non useable kitchen. All tourists that I have met do not usually have these items in their bags! There was a small coffee maker. The breakfast was free, and I guess acceptable except for the powdered eggs. Close to shopping mall.

Room Tip: Check for smoke smell before accepting the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itchyfeetGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

The beds are like bricks but the pillows and comforters were wonderful. The rooms are dated and the shower is not that strong. We booked 2 double rooms; one had a couch the other didn't. In one of our rooms the bathroom was dirty and the other the carpet was dirty.
If you weight 280+ you may not be able to move well in the bathroom they are pretty small.
Also, the light shines through the sides and bottom of the door.
They had 2 buses of children come in they slammed door, run and yelled in the halls. We ask them twice to stop, we had to get up at 4. I went to the front desk and security come back with me. The staff did act quickly!! No complaints about the staff. I would not stay their again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fullspirit24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort_Inn_Fairfax, Manager at Comfort Inn University Center, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. We are always looking for ways we can improve our service and the best way to accomplish this is to get direct feedback from our guests. I will review the comments you made and direct them to the appropriate departments to see where we can improve our service.
We hope we can accommodate you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Comfort Inn Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Heights, MI
Level Contributor
213 reviews
158 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

07/01/14 I got the usual great service on check-in. The staff is very courteous. If you're using a meeting room, the University room has annoyingly spotty Internet. This has a nearby 7-11 and there's also a FedEx drop box within walking distance (at ground level between 11130 and 11150 buildings)

Room Tip: This is a hotel frequented by tourists. It's a good idea to ask for a room on the upper floor to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank professordoctormom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

Nothing bad to say about the hotel, I would recommend it. The hotel is very outdated and rooms need to be updated. Staff is great! Highly recommend. Breakfast is good. Gift shop not open long enough. !

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauraleeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fairfax hotels
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Fairfax
BEST WESTERN Fairfax
#8 of 21 in Fairfax
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Fairfax
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Fairfax City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Fairfax
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Fairfax Fair Oaks
3.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency FairFax
Hyatt Regency FairFax
#6 of 21 in Fairfax
4.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn University Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn University Center

Property: Comfort Inn University Center
Address: 11180 Fairfax Blvd, Fairfax, VA 22030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Fairfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn University Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Choice Hotels so you can book your Comfort Inn University Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn University Hotel Fairfax
Comfort Inn Fairfax
Fairfax Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing