We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“airport” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn University Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Inn University Center
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Fairfax
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“airport”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

The beds are like bricks but the pillows and comforters were wonderful. The rooms are dated and the shower is not that strong. We booked 2 double rooms; one had a couch the other didn't. In one of our rooms the bathroom was dirty and the other the carpet was dirty.
If you weight 280+ you may not be able to move well in the bathroom they are pretty small.
Also, the light shines through the sides and bottom of the door.
They had 2 buses of children come in they slammed door, run and yelled in the halls. We ask them twice to stop, we had to get up at 4. I went to the front desk and security come back with me. The staff did act quickly!! No complaints about the staff. I would not stay their again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fullspirit24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort_Inn_Fairfax, Manager at Comfort Inn University Center, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. We are always looking for ways we can improve our service and the best way to accomplish this is to get direct feedback from our guests. I will review the comments you made and direct them to the appropriate departments to see where we can improve our service.
We hope we can accommodate you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Comfort Inn Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    73
    40
    16
    16
See reviews for
64
39
22
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sterling Heights, MI
Level Contributor
201 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

07/01/14 I got the usual great service on check-in. The staff is very courteous. If you're using a meeting room, the University room has annoyingly spotty Internet. This has a nearby 7-11 and there's also a FedEx drop box within walking distance (at ground level between 11130 and 11150 buildings)

Room Tip: This is a hotel frequented by tourists. It's a good idea to ask for a room on the upper floor to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank professordoctormom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

Nothing bad to say about the hotel, I would recommend it. The hotel is very outdated and rooms need to be updated. Staff is great! Highly recommend. Breakfast is good. Gift shop not open long enough. !

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauraleeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
181 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

This is a nice, reasonably-priced hotel. The rooms are a bit dated, but very clean and comfortable. Front desk staff was always helpful and friendly. The air conditioning units in the rooms themselves are quite loud. That was the only downside of our stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hmdpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Statesville, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

Came up for one night to attend a Fairfax High graduation. We were greeted by Sushil Thapa at the desk who was friendly and, though busy, had us checked in in very short order and made us feel welcome and happy. The room was clean and the hot tub was a welcome experience after a long drive. Overall the visit was "Super Duper"! We plan to stay here again on any future visits.

Room Tip: Pay the difference for the hot tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schertz, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

Great location, clean rooms, nice indoor pool, good breakfast buffet.
Nice gift shop and walking distance to get food. Mini kitchen and refrigerators are nice to have. Lots of room to walk in the rooms.
Front staff personal very professional and courteous.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank V F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort_Inn_Fairfax, General Manager at Comfort Inn University Center, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review about your recent stay with us. We always strive to exceed our guests expectations and we hope we have with you. Hope to see you again in the future.
Sincerely,
Mariana Vilchez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Mount, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

My wife and I stay here 4-5 times a school year. We have had various experiences over the past 2 years. This past year we have been pleased with our stay. The hotel is very comfort inn generic. You stay at one you will see the same in all. Décor and breakfast bars all look the same. The staff and attention to details make the difference. I would recommend this property for a short stay. Bring your own pillows and the beds are very average at best. I would not pay more than 70-80 dollars a night for this hotel. If you can stay for 50 or less it is worth the money. Reserve a head of time to get a better rate.

Room Tip: Beds are very average. Bring your own pillows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort_Inn_Fairfax, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn University Center, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Michael,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us, we always welcome feedback from our guests so we can continue to improve our services. The similar feeling you get from Choice Hotels is intended as concept through Choice Hotels, this effect is supposed to make our guests feel comfortable in their settings even if they are staying at a different property for the first time. This is why you would find similar decor, bedding, pillows, etc.

We hope to see you again in the future!!

Sincerely,

Mariana Vilchez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fairfax hotels
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Fairfax
BEST WESTERN Fairfax
#8 of 21 in Fairfax
4.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Fairfax
0.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Fairfax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Fairfax City
1.3 mi away
Residence Inn Fairfax City
0.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Fairfax Fair Oaks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn University Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn University Center

Property: Comfort Inn University Center
Address: 11180 Fairfax Blvd, Fairfax, VA 22030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Fairfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn University Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Choice Hotels, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Comfort Inn University Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn University Hotel Fairfax
Comfort Inn Fairfax
Fairfax Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing