We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great...Great...Great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn University Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Inn University Center
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Fairfax
Shenandoah, Virginia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Great...Great...Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

So the internet here is still a little spotty at times but functioning great. The staff is amazing and the rooms are freshly painted and carpeted. It is close to everything. I stay here all the time and LOVE it!!!!

Room Tip: Get a jacuzzi room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort_Inn_Fairfax, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn University Center, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thank You for your feedback Richard!! We always love to hear back from our guests so we can always continue to improve.

Hope to see you again!!

Happy St. Patrick's Day,

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    69
    39
    15
    16
See reviews for
61
38
22
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laconia, New Hampshire
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

My wife and I wanted to get away for a week and visit DC. In searching for a place to stay, the University Center Comfort Inn came up on a GroupOn deal and it looked promising so we booked it. The complimentary hot breakfast was a great start to each day with scrambled eggs, sausage, home fries, waffles, fruit and other pastries; we found the food fresh and hot. We were able to use their shuttle services each morning and night to get to and from the Vienna Metro station for day trips into DC. All of the staff we met were friendly and courteous making us feel at home. There was plenty of room in the suite for us and we enjoyed soaking in the hot tub at night. We would definitely return and stay here in the future. The hotel itself was clean with a few minor defects in the room. The shower/bathroom arrangement was a bit odd and small. We toured the pool and exercise facility, but never quite made it to either choosing to soak in the hot tub instead.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GMSweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort_Inn_Fairfax, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn University Center, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank You for sharing your experience with others, we are please to hear about your pleasant stay with us!! Hope to see you again!!

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

I have stayed at this property about a half dozen times over the past year and they always take good care of me. The staff is amazing and I continue to get free nights since signing up for their membership program.

Wireless Internet works well, breakfast has plenty of options, and the rooms are clean!! That's all I need.

-Rick

Room Tip: Ask the Front Desk at check in for available room types, they always find the best room to fit my ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort_Inn_Fairfax, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn University Center, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Rick,

Thank you once again for staying with us!! We always love to hear about your stays with us and we hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
114 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Had stayed here before and while not a great hotel it was good for one night.

Was a little dissapointed this time. Arrived several days after a big snowstorm and the parking lot was still a mess - about half the spaces were unusable.

The rooms were clean. The staff is very helpful - for example they had pre printed directions for where we wanted to go and it appeared they had these for a lot of places.

Never expecting a gourmet breakfast in these types of hotels but it was still dissapointing. Eggs and sausage were cold and tasteless. Second morning went down to breakfast and everything looked the same so went out to eat.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cttraveller67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dnj918
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night on our way home from Florida to New York. It's a clean hotel with very nice staff... We had a jacuzzi king room, tub was very clean. Shower was a bit yucky... Clean but old and worn out. They have an indoor heated pool BUT the room it's in is not all that warm, the hotel is also not too warm. You can put your room temp as high as you want. The walk from the pool was absolutely freezing. They Do have complimentary breakfast from 7-11am, which we didn't attend. Honestly for the price, I don't think it is worth the stay! Plenty more hotels with better amenities.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank dnj918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

For a couple's night away from home, on a Thursday....lovely experience. The front desk manager gave us a fantastic rate, even though it was a last minute decision and we did not have a reservation. He even gave us an upgrade to a jacuzzi suite. Our room was spacious, comfortable and clean. Bedding and towels were new, and more luxurious than I was expecting Cozy bed. Even the pillows were to my high standard. We did not stay for breakfast, but it was great to have a fridge and microwave in our room. Thanks, we will be back!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MJB33131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

I am a European and I stayed for 5 nights at the hotel in early January. Wonderful value for money in terms of accommodation, huge room with two double beds, although I was alone. Everything was in there, although the hotel is not very new. But my room had everything, from cable tv to fridge, microwave, coffee machine, to writing desk and yes, an iron and ironing board. The only drawback was the bathtub and shower, typically old American, with the shower into the wall, and the water tap kinda clunky. But it was all about the service. Reception staff went out of their way to fulfill my every request, cleaning ladies were quick and discreet, Breakfast was overly plentiful and good quality. On my last day, the receptionist even enrolled me for free as a member of the Comfort Inn club, so that I could stay in my room for three more hours. Simply, the staff were fantastic, I wish European hotels had such professional and friendly staff. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank e t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fairfax
10.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Arlington Boulevard
Comfort Inn Arlington Boulevard
#10 of 16 in Falls Church
4.0 of 5 stars 202 reviews
11.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Ballston
Comfort Inn Ballston
#23 of 49 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 stars 377 reviews
6.7 mi away
Quality Inn Tysons Corner
Quality Inn Tysons Corner
#11 of 14 in Tysons Corner
3.0 of 5 stars 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Fairfax
9.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 12 in Springfield
4.0 of 5 stars 200 reviews
11.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn University Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn University Center

Property: Comfort Inn University Center
Address: 11180 Fairfax Blvd, Fairfax, VA 22030-5048
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Fairfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn University Center 2*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotwire, Odigeo, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Comfort Inn University Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn University Hotel Fairfax
Comfort Inn Fairfax
Fairfax Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing